Thousand Guineas Prelude Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Thousand Guineas Prelude run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Thousand Guineas Prelude

Winners and Past Results for the Thousand Guineas Prelude.

The Group 2 Thousand Guineas Prelude is hosted by Melbourne Racing Club during the spring racing carnival in September. The race was elevated from a Group 2 event to a Group 2 in August 2013.

The Thousand Guineas Prelude, three year old fillies trek over 1400 metres of Caulfield Racecourse under set weights & penalties conditions in preparation for the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas held a month later on the same track. The race with $200,000 in prize money, is the female equivalent of the Caulfield Guineas Prelude for colts & geldings held a week later. Held on the same day is the Group 1 Underwood Stakes, the Thousand Guineas Prelude attracts more than handy three year old fillies seeking to make it to the big stage. The race is worth $175,000 in prize money although the main attraction for most runners is the opportunity to step up to the Caulfield Guineas.

While many fillies may not claim the Caulfield Guineas some of them have gone on to become stars of the turf over their careers. Among them is Miss Finland who went on to win multiple group races during her career after winning here in 2006.

Fillies may make their way to the Thousand Guineas Prelude via a number of Group races. The Group 3 McNeil Stakes is held earlier at the same track in August over 1200 metres is one of the likely warm up races.

Fillies may fancy their chances in the Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes or the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes at Flemington Racecourse on their way to the Caulfield Guineas after a run in the Thousand Guineas Prelude.

The Thousand Guineas Prelude was first held as the VATC Health Stakes, a listed race, in 1983. It achieved Group 3 status in 2003 and has remained in the same class ever since. It has also been held as the VATC Tranquil Star Stakes, MRC Jumeirah International Stakes and MRC Tranquil Star Stakes. However, it has been held as the Thousand Guineas Prelude since 2007.

Year Thousand Guineas Prelude Winners
2020 Instant Celebrity
2019 Acting
2018 Smart Melody
2017 Mighty Boss
2016 Legless Veuve
2015 Miss Gunpowder
2014 Afleet Esprit
2013 Gregers
2012 Lady Of Harrods
2011 Bliss Street
2010 Divorces
2009 Irish Lights
2008 Ortensia
2007 Gabbidon
2006 Miss Finland
2005 Doubting
2004 Hollow Bullet
2003 Hinting
2002 La Bella Dame
2001 Haste Ye Back
2000 So Gorgeous
1999 Miss Pennymoney
1998 Danelagh
1997 Cornwall Queen
1996 Derobe
1995 Rubidium
1994 Majestic Dawn
1993 Brompton Cross
1992 Azzurro
1991 Chador
1990 Century Pike
1989 Pleasure Bandit
1988 Imposing Bloom
1987 Bianco Flyer
1986 Shackle
1985 Jewel In The Crown
1984 Christmas Hamper
1983 My Marseillaise

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers