Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Scarborough Stakes 2022 Tips, News, Winners and Past Results

Scarborough Stakes is a Group 3 race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse over 1200 metres annually. Prize money for the event is worth $200,000. Date for this year's Scarborough Stakes is 23/9/22

Winners and Past Results for the Scarborough Stakes

Scarborough Stakes, registered as the MVRC Champagne Stakes, is a $200,000 Group 3 race held every year in September during the Spring Racing Carnival at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne.

2022 Scarborough Stakes Information

Date Of The Scarborough Stakes: 23/9/22

Time Of The Scarborough Stakes: TBA

Venue For The Scarborough Stakes: Moonee Valley Racecourse

How To Live Stream The Scarborough Stakes

To live stream the Scarborough Stakes, Sign Up To TAB and watch the race for free.

How To Bet On The Scarborough Stakes

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Scarborough Stakes: Ladbrokes

My 2022 Scarborough Stakes Betting Tips

1. TBA

2. TBA

3. TBA

More Details About The Scarborough Stakes

This 1200 metre set weight race for 3 year old fillies is organised by Moonee Valley Racing Club. Moonee valley racecourse is considered to be one of the most prestigious racecourses in Australia, and is also the first course to offer night racing.

Started in 1975 as a principle race known as the Moonee Valley Champagne Stakes, it was upgraded to Group 3 in 1978 and was known as the Leilani Stakes.

In 1985 it was upgraded to Group 2 and was known as the “Venve Cliquot Classic”. From 1985 to 2004, it was run under a number of names, such as “The Veuve Cliquot”, “The Laurent Perrier”, “Champagne Stakes”, and “Mitsubishi Stakes”. In 2004, it was downgraded to a Group 3 race, and ever since has been run as the “Scarborough Stakes”.

Raced on the same day as the Group 1 Manikato Stakes, which is considered the biggest sprint event of the year, the Scarborough Stakes, is usually run at night, which creates the perfect conditions and environment for fast racing.

The entries into this race are often of good quality, but some have been shown up, especially if it's their first visit to the course. Fillies that contest here do not come from any major group events, but an eye should be kept on the listed races, with the same conditions and similar distances.

Fillies may move on to 1200 metre events like the Group 3 Red Anchor Stakes run under set weight conditions at Moonee Valley in October or the 1200 M Group 3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes at Caulfield on Caulfield Guineas Day also in October. Lone Rock finished third in the Red Anchor Stakes on Cox Plate Day after winning the 2010 Scarborough Stakes.

The 2011 winner of the MVRC Scarborough Stakes, Miss Stellabelle, won a 1100 M 3-Year-Old Maiden Plate at Bendigo, and went on to finish second in the 1200 M Group 3 Australia Stakes held at Moonee Valley a month later. The 2011 runner up, Platelet, came in after placing 3rd in the listed, 1100 M Cap D'Antibes Stakes at Flemington Racecourse, and 3rd again in the 1100m, Super Vobis 3 Year Old Handicap. She then went on to win the 1200 metre Group 3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes at Caulfield.

Horses may seek to tackle the Group 3 Red Anchor Stakes at Moonee Valley. Other horses may head to Flemington for the Group 2 Wakeful Stakes and Group 1 Crown Oaks later in the carnival.

Scarborough Stakes Past Winners

2020Swats That
2019Loving Gaby
2015Take Pride
2011Miss Stellabelle
2010Lone Rock
2008Dan Baroness
2007Antarctic Miss
2006Estelle Collection
2005Virage De Fortune
2004Truly Wicked
2003Dilly Dally
2002Before Too Long
2001Fair Embrace
1999I Am A Ripper
1996Always Divine
1995Bracken Bank
1994Love Of Mary
1991Royal Accord
1990With Me
1988Startling Lass
1987Midnight Fever
1986Society Bay
1985Canny Lass
1984Dark Rhythm
1983Look Aloft
1982Belle Stani
1981Darling Take Care
1980Heart Strings
1979Lady's Slipper
1978Red Coral
1975Miss Ollie

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers