Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

PGR will always be free to use (yay!). However, we will receive a referral fee from the brands when you sign up to them through us and this may affect the order in which they appear on our site.

Got It

HDF McNeil Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

HDF McNeil Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the HDF McNeil Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the HDF McNeil Stakes

The Group 3 HDF McNeil Stakes is an open race for three year old horses held at Caulfield Racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival.

HDF McNeil Stakes is a 1200 metre sprint race held under set weight plus penalties with $150,000 going to the winners. The race is usually scheduled at the end of August and is one of the major black type events of the carnival with horses moving on to seek greater success during the season.

The Memsie Stakes is also on the day's schedule. For many horses, the HDF McNeil Stakes is a stepping stone to major Group 1 and Group 3 events later during the carnival, which is why quality gallopers assemble at the starting gate. Among the major races that horses may tackle during the season include the Group 1 Thousand Guineas Prelude, the Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes, and the Group 1 Crown Oaks for fillies. Top performers in the HDF McNeil Stakes are to be watched closely as many may fancy their chances in the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas and Coolmore Stud Classic as well. However, most horses seek for a place in the Group 1 Victoria Derby, Danehill Stakes and AAMI Vase as well.

Some of the most talented sprinters have etched their name on the HDF McNeil Stakes over the years which include the talented Bel Esprit in 2002, Danerich in 2005, Scenic Blast in 2006, and Starspangledbanner in 2009. Danzero one of the classic sprinters, won the HDF McNeil Stakes in 1994

Golden Archer, winner of the HDF McNeil Stakes in 2011 came into the race finishing runner up in the Listed Vain Stakes over 1100 metres on the Caulfield track after coming in from a spell. Later, was unplaced in the Caulfield Guineas Prelude. Sistine Angel came in from a spell to win the 2010 HDF McNeil Stakes and followed it up with a second place in the Thousand Guineas Prelude over 1400 metres at Caulfield after which she won the Group 2 Manikato Stakes at Flemington over 1600 metres in October.

After finishing fourth in the 2010 HDF McNeil Stakes, Yosei won the Group 1 Thousand Guineas at Caulfield. Shamrocker, placed seventh in the race later won the Group 1 AJC Oaks at Randwick and followed it up with another victory in the Group 1 Australian Guineas at Flemington. For punters, horses that pass through the HDF McNeil Stakes ought to be closely watched for the entire season  

YearHDF McNeil Stakes Winners
2020Immortal Love
2019Super Seth
2018Native Soldier
2017Merchant Navy
2015Gold Symphony
2013Fast 'n' Rocking
2012Lady Of Harrods
2011Golden Archer
2010Sistine Angel
2008Sugar Babe
2007Scenic Blast
2006Miss Finland
2004Tahni Girl
2002Bel Esprit
2001Tully Dane
2000Rapid Man
1999Honour The Name
1997La Baraka
1995Gold Ace
1992Snippet's Girl

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Neds Logo
Same Race Multi Available on All Meetings on All 3 Codes
Join Now
Available from approx. 9:30am local track time on race day. Availability dependent on fiel ...More
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing. Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Bet365 Logo
Great Promotions. Use Referral Code: TOP10AU
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Palmerbet Logo
Great Value & Great Odds Every Day
Join Now
T&Cs. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers