Geelong Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Geelong Cup run at the Geelong Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Geelong Cup over the years

Winners and Past Results of the Geelong Cup.

The Geelong Cup is hosted by the Geelong Racing Club. This event is Group 3 open race held under handicap conditions at Geelong Racecourse, in Geelong, Melbourne.

Horses travel over 2400 metres to prove their staying ability and a chance to grab prize money worth $300,000.

The Geelong Cup is held annually in early October during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Important to note is that the day of this prestigious event in Geelong is a public holiday in the city. Most notably, owners and trainers saddle their best horses since the winner gains automatic entry to the prestigious Melbourne Cup.

The Geelong Cup was run for the first time in 1872 with a horse named Flying Scud recorded as the first winner. Many horses who have won the prestigious Geelong Cup have also won the Melbourne Cup which include Media Puzzle in 2002, Americain winning in 2010 and Dunaden in 2011, all scoring a Geelong Cup/Melbourne Cup double.

The Geelong Racing Club is the only club which is not located in the Metropolitan area of the city. The race track is situated 72 kilometres south west of the Melbourne. The Geelong Cup attracts the toughest horses that test their staying power and condition themselves for other spring races of the season. Most of the international horses use the event to determine their standing and the areas they need to improve on for the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup later in the season. The popular Group 1 Caulfield Cup and the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes are generally the lead up races for horses participating in the Geelong Cup. Some of the glorious winners of this event in the recent years include Dunaden in 2011, Americain in 2010 and Leica Ding in 2009.

Dunaden finished ninth in the 3000 M Group 2 Darley Prix Kergorlay at Deauville in the UK on his way to winning the Geelong Cup. Later, he went on to win the $1.7 million Hong Kong Vase over 2400 metres at the Sha Tin track in Hong Kong. Earlier Americain won the Geelong/Melbourne Cup double while Crime Scene, sixth in the 2009 Geelong Cup ran a close second in the Melbourne Cup. Winner in 2008, Bauer went on to lose narrowly to Viewed. Another outstanding stayer to win the Geelong Cup / Melbourne Cup double is Media Puzzle in 2002. Zazzman followed a Geelong Cup victory with a brilliant third spot in the 2004 Melbourne Cup with runner up She's Archie finishing second behind Makybe Diva, which is proof that the Geelong Cup is a race to follow closely during the spring carnival.

Year Geelong Cup Winners
2020 Steel Prince
2019 Prince Of Arran
2018 Runaway
2017 Vengeur Masque
2016 Qewy
2015 Almoonqith
2014 Caravan Rolls On
2013 Ibicenco
2012 Gatewood
2011 Dunaden
2010 Americain
2009 Leica Ding
2008 Bauer
2007 The Fuzz
2006 Mandela
2005 On A Jeune
2004 Pacific Dancer
2003 Zazzman
2002 Media Puzzle
2001 Karasi
2000 Savrocca
1999 Bohemiath
1998 Ancient City
1997 Oregon Star
1996 Hereditas
1995 Anfitrion
1994 Grass Valley
1993 Ultimate Aim
1992 Ali Boy
1991 Newbury Star
1990 Mr. Brooker
1989 Pacific Mirage
Sea Legend
1988 Our Classic Bay
1987 Beau Trist
1986 Fil De Roi
1985 Koiro Corrie May
1984 Chagemar
1983 Deb's Mate
1982 Gujarat
1981 Allez Bijou
1980 Summer Fleur
1979 Hauberk
1978 Puramaka
1977 Brallos
1976 Taminga
1975 Dowling Girl
1974 Special Test
1973 Australasia
1972 Hayburner
1971 Gnapur
1970 Vansittart
1969 Double Steel
1968 Bergman
1967 Royal Coral
1966 Craftsman
1965 Pleasanton
1964 Jamagne
1963 Nivek
1962 Napoleon
1961 Ursalon
1960 Tabess
1959 Paratone
1958 Mac
1957 King Boru
1956 Prince Abbott
1955 November Moon
1954 Chidden
1953 not held
1952 Welkin Sun
1951 Trust Me
1950 Purple Prince
1949 Blank Music
1948 Royal Scot
1947 Bruin
1946 not held
1945 not held
1944 not held
1943 not held
1942 not held
1941 not held
1940 not held
1939 not held
1938 not held
1937 Lord Carrington
1936 not held
1935 not held
1934 Viol D'Amour
1933 Bay Of Islands
1932 Glaive
1931 El Rey
1930 not held
1930 Taras
1929 Sea Pilot
1928 Anan Louise
1927 Victorian King
1926 Bombard
1925 Glaxy
1924 Lillirie
1923 Mount Bernard
1922 Tresco
1921 Rahda
1920 not held
1919 Luteplayer
1918 Blackwood
1917 Mnesarchus
1916 Lady Mooltan
1915 Pouter
1914 Roseview
1913 Porch
1912 Roseview
1911 Crete
1910 Orline
1909 Tantalla
1908 not held
1907 not held
1905 Cluster
1904 Mallard
1903 Telemachus
1902 Merryman
1901 Marie Corelli
1900 Model
1899 Relic
1898 Chit Chat
1897 not held
1896 Pivot
1894 The Clown
1893 Newman
1892 Norbert
1891 Tantallon
1890 Britannia
1889 Malua
1888 Gardenia
1887 Camerine
1886 Claptrap
1885 Camerine
1884 Linda
1883 Gudarz
1882 Guinea
1881 Progress
1880 Zambesi
1879 Lord Harry
1878 Newminster
1877 Pride Of The Hills
1876 Emulation
1875 Melbourne
1874 Mccallum Mohn
1873 Leo

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers