Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Grand Prix Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Grand Prix Stakes run at the Eagle Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Grand Prix Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Grand Prix Stakes.

The Grand Prix Stakes is a Group 3 event for three year old horses held during the Brisbane Winter carnival in Queensland annually at Eagle Farm Racecourse.

2022 Grand Prix Stakes Race Details

Date Of The Grand Prix Stakes: 17/12/22

Venue For The Grand Prix Stakes: Eagle Farm

Time Of The Grand Prix Stakes: TBA

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Grand Prix Stakes: Ladbrokes

It is organised by the Brisbane Racing Club in late May or early June and considered to be an important middle distance event for promising stayers.

Run over 2200 meters, under set weight conditions, the Grand Prix Stakes offers prize money worth $250,000 and is held usually on one of the biggest days in the racing calendar alongside the Group 1 Doomben 10,000. Established in 1974, this race has a long history and has provided a number of highlights since its inception.

Eagle Farm Racecourse is located in the suburb of Ascot , 7 km from Brisbane 's Central Business District. The track is 28 metres wide, 2027 meters in circumference and consists of a 434 meter straight. The track hosts five Group 1 events, six Group 2 events, and five Group 3 events, over the year. Considered to be Queensland 's premier track and the main venue for races during Brisbane 's Winter Carnival, Eagle Farm is controlled by Brisbane Racing Club. The club was the result of the merger of the Queensland Turf Club and the Brisbane Turf Club in 2009. Used for flat racing, and sporting a grass surface with a wood fiber and sand composite underlay, the course is well known to be an all-season course.

The Grand Prix Stakes is considered by many to be the direct lead up event for the Group 1 Queensland Derby, which is run at the same carnival, a fortnight later. The event is run over 2400 meters, under the same conditions and for the same age group as the horses competing here. Even with it being such a perfect event, only Half Hennessy in 2003, and Ice Chariot in 2006, have completed a Grand Prix Stakes / Queensland Derby double. The closest to join this group in recent history is Kutchinsky in 2010. He came into the Grand Prix Stakes from winning the Super Vobis 3-Y-O Handicap, held at Flemington Racecourse a fortnight earlier and then went on to win this race and placed second in the Queensland Derby.

The 2010 runner up, The Hombre came in from winning the Group 3 Rough Habit Stakes at Doomben a fortnight earlier. Many of the horses competing here come from Sydney and Melbourne, as well as a large number from across South East Queensland. Previous winners who have made their mark are Schillaci in 1992, Conair in Secret in 2002, and Sirmione in 2007.

YearGrand Prix Stakes Winners
2021Gypsy Goddess
2020The Elanora
2019 DecChains Of Honour
2019 MayFun Fact
2018Fun Fact
2017Order Again
2009Saint Minerva
2008Bell Academy
2006Ice Chariot
2003Half Hennessy
2002Distinctly Secret
2000Make Mine Magic
1998not held
1997not held
1995Perfect Bound
1994Sky Watch
1993Air Seattle
1992In The Event
1991Dorset Downs
1989Hidden Rhythm
1988not held
1987Finezza Belle
1986Handy Proverb
1985Our Sophia
1983So Good
1982Our Planet
1981Mr. Cromwell
1980Kingston Town
1979Double Century
1975Lord Randolph
1973Mighty Keys
1972Latin Knight

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
Place a TOTE win bet on Races 1-6 at 3 Tracks, run 2nd or 3rd, get up to $50 back in Bonus Bets!
Join Now
*Excludes WA residents. First Tote win bet placed online. See promotions page for full T&C ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers