Let's Elope Stakes. Winners & Past Results For The Let's Elope Stakes

Lets Elope Stakes run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Lets Elope Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Lets Elope Stakes.

The Let's Elope Stakes is a Group 2 event for mares four years old and above held each year at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne.

The 1400 meter race is run under set weight and penalty conditions with $200,000 in prize money offered by the Victoria Racing Club.

The Let's Elope Stakes has been on the racing calendar since 1987. From 1987 to 1993, it was known as the Milady Stakes, after which it was renamed after former champion and Melbourne Cup winner, Let's Elope. It remained a Listed Race till 2005 when it was elevated to Group 3 and achieved Group 2 status in 2009.

Usually held in early September, as part the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, The Let's Elope Stakes is a race which fancies the more talented females where those who have better race records and higher average prize money are usually the one's that place. The race attracts a capacity field of above average mares, arriving from many other races throughout the country. Past races have shown a greater tendency of mares coming in from the Group 3 Cockram Stakes, held three weeks earlier at Caulfield Racecourse.

Mares who place well in the Let's Elope Stakes usually consider competing in the Group 3 How Now Stakes, held at Flemington on Underwood Stakes day. Some of the most successful mares that have won the Let's Elope race have gone on to claim major races on the Australian racing circuit.

Cats Whiskers in 2009 won the Cockram Stakes and went on to win the Let's Elope Stakes. She then went ahead and competed in the Group 2 WH Stocks Stakes where she placed second. In her next outing she won the Group 2 Blazer Stakes, on Turnbull Stake's day at Flemington. Pinker Pinker, who finished fifth in the 2011 Cockram Stakes, won the Lets Elope Stakes in the same year and went on to place 2 nd in both the Group 2 Stoke Stakes and the Group 1 Epsom Handicap, followed by an impressive win in the prestigious Group 1 W S Cox Plate.

No Evidence Needed who won the Let's Elope Stakes in 2010, also placed 2nd in both her next races in the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and the Group 2 Blazer Stakes. Other winners who have blazed the tracks after winning the Let's Elope Stakes, include the 1992 winner Mannerism, who has the Mannerism Stakes named after her in 1994, and the 2003 winner Ain't Seen Nothin.

Year Lets Elope Stakes Winners
2020 Pretty Brazen
2019 I Am A Star
2018 I Am A Star
2017 Sword Of Light
2016 Don't Doubt Mamma
2015 Amicus
2014 Commanding Jewel
2013 Commanding Jewel
2012 Zurella
2011 Pinker Pinker
2010 No Evidence Needed
2009 Cats Whisker
2008 Mimi Lebrock
2007 Devil Moon
2006 Rewaaya
2005 Dea
2004 Beautiful Gem
2003 Ain't Seen Nothin'
2002 Purple Groove
2001 Flushed
2000 Tickle My
1999 Zapeace
1998 Skyrocket
1997 Derobe
1996 Rose Of Portland
1995 Tolanda
1994 Amuse Us
1993 Rose Of Marizza
1992 Mannerism
1991 Shavano Miss
1990 Natural Wonder
1989 Rancheetah
1988 Riva Gleam
1987 Take My Picture
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Great Odds
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers