Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Blamey Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Blamey Stakes run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Blamey Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Blamey Stakes.

The Group 2 Blamey Stakes held at the Flemington Racecourse in March is a race for horses three year old and upwards run over a distance of 1600 meters.

2023 Blamey Stakes Race Details

Date Of The Blamey Stakes: 4/3/23

Venue For The Blamey Stakes: Flemington Racecourse

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Blamey Stakes: Ladbrokes

The event is an open race run under set weight and penalty conditions. Hosted by the Victoria Racing Club, the Blamey Stakes attracts prize money worth $300,000. The event is held on a day packed with Group 1 and Group 2 races including the Newmarket Handicap, Australian Cup, Kewney Stakes, VRC Sires' Produce Stakes, and other Group 3 races including the Thoroughbred Breeders Stakes and Matron Stakes during the autumn racing carnival in Melbourne.

The Blamey Stakes has a rich history with Prince Cortauld winning the inaugural event in 1956.

Several horses won back to back races which include Dhaulagiri in 1961-62, Tobin Bronze in 1966-67, Hyperno in 1980-81, Vo Rogue in 1988-89, Better Loosen Up in 1990-91, and Durbridge in 1994-95.

The 2007 winner, Apache Cat, is among the formidable horses to win the Blamey Stakes.

The event was initially a principal race and achieved its Group 2 status in 1980. Until then it was also run under weight for age conditions. The Futurity Stakes at Caulfield Racecourse presents the perfect lead up to the Blamey Stakes. Whobegotyou, the 2011 champion ran second in the Futurity Stakes. Other notable winners include Gunsynd in 1973, Willoughby in 1998, Rosden in 2006, Largo Lad in 2009, and Lord Tavistock in 2010.

The Blamey Stakes is an event known to favour better gallopers and the occasional elite galloper. Over the past decade, Damien Oliver has been the most successful jockey with three Blamey Stakes to his credit steering Oliver Twist, Gold Wells, and Apache Cat to victory in 2000, 2004, and 2007 respectively. Jockey Steven Arnold follows with a double. Trainer David Hayes is credited with back to back victories in the Blamey Stakes with The Fuzz in 2008 and Largo Lad in 2009.

Runners may come in from the 1700 meter Listed Heatherlie Handicap held earlier at Caulfield in spring. Interestingly, four year olds seem to have a great attraction for the Blamey Stakes with six four-year-olds winning the event over the last eight editions of the Blamey Stakes. Only four favourites have obliged over the last decade.

All eyes are on the Blamey Stakes on Super Family Day at Flemington, which is the major racing venue in Melbourne, Victoria and home to the Melbourne Cup.

Blamey Stakes Past Winners

2022Inspirational Girl
2021Star Of The Seas
2020Fifty Stars
2019Fifty Stars
2016He Or She
2013Budriguez Puissance De Lune
2012Green Moon
2010Lord Tavistock
2009Largo Lad
2008The Fuzz
2007Apache Cat
2005Grey Song
2004Gold Wells
2003Walk On Air
2002Tears Royal
2001Market Price
2000Oliver Twist
1996Racer's Edge
1993Prince Salieri
1992Shiva's Revenge
1991Better Loosen Up
1990Better Loosen Up
1989Vo Rogue
1988Vo Rogue
1987Playful Princess
1986Lord Of Camelot
1984Penny Edition
1976Lord Dudley
1971Gay Icarus
1967Tobin Bronze
1966Tobin Bronze
1965Sir Dane
1964Teppo Star
1960Wool Man
1959But Beautiful
1957Sailor's Guide
1956Rising Fast
1955Prince Cortauld

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers