Perth Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Perth Cup run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Perth Cup

Winners and Past Results for the Perth Cup.

The Perth Cup is a Group 2 event considered to be Western Australia 's premier racing event hosted by Perth Racing.

The race is usually run on New Years Eve, but in 2012 it has been pushed forward to New Year's Day.

This staying race is set a distance of 2400 metres and run under handicap conditions.

Offering $500,000 as prize money, the Perth Cup is held at the well known Ascot Racecourse on what used to be the last big pay day of the year until 2012. With a usual crowd of over 35,000 in attendance, the Perth Cup is considered to be one of the most difficult races of the year. The Ascot Racecourse is famous for its long 400 meter straight, which rises on an uphill slope. This requires a much stronger horse to run full steam up the home straight.

The Perth Cup was established in 1887, with an initial distance of 2 miles, which was increased to 2 miles 11 yards in 1947. This distance remained until 1962 after which it reverted back to its original distance of 2 miles. In 1972, the distance was changed to 3200 meters, and it was drastically cut to 2400 meter in 2009 in order to attract a higher quality field.

The uphill nature of the track has its advantages for the local horses trained here, with the occasional well performing Eastern horses also competing. With a usual field of twenty quality gallopers, mainly looking to improve their form and grab the first major event of the year, the Perth Cup usually finds horses coming in from many prestigious races.

The most important lead up race is the 2100 M Group 2 CB Cox Stakes, which is held a fortnight before at the same racecourse, as part of the same summer carnival. Lord Ransom in 2009, Cats Fun in 2008, Palatious in 1994, Mirror Magic in 1992 and Saratov in 1989, all won the CB Cox Stakes and Perth Cup Double.

Some of the other races to look for are the 1800 M Group 1 Kingston Town Classic, at the beginning of the month, and the Group 1 Railway Stakes over 1600 metres, held in mid November.

Both races are held at the same venue. Some horses have come into this race from the ATA Handicap and the WA St. Leger, held a week earlier at the same course. Horses that have had a strong performance here usually have an eye on the 2400 M Group 1 Western Australian Derby.

Year Perth Cup Winners
2021 Neufbosc
2020 Mississippi Delta
2019 Star Exhibit
2018 Material Man
2017 Star Exhibit
2016 Delicacy
2015 Real Love
2014 Black Tycoon
2013 Talent Show
2012 Western Jewel
2011 Guest Wing
2010 Lords Ransom
2009 Guyno
2008 Cats Fun
2007 Respect
2006 Black Tom
2005 Crown Prosecutor
2004 King Canute
2003 Tumeric
2002 Cardinal Colours
2001 Lottila Bay
2000 Luna Tudor
1999 King Of Saxony
1998 Heed The Toll
1997 Time Frame
1996 Crying Game
1995 Ros Reef
1994 Palatious
1993 Field Officer
1992 Mirror Magic
1991 Zamlight
1990 Word Of Honour
1989 Saratov
1988 Linc The Leopard
1987 Rocket Racer
1986 Ullyatt
1985 Phizam
1984 Moss Kingdom
1983 Bianco Lady
1982 Magistrate
1981 Magistrate
1980 Rothschild
1979 Meliador
1978 Golden Centre
1977 Muros
1976 Philomel
1975 Runyon
1974 Allegation
1973 Dayana
1972 Fait Accompli
1971 Artello Bay
1970 Fait Accompli
1969 Jenark
1968 Lintonmarc
1967 Special Reward
1966 Royal Coral
1965 Fair's Print
1964 Resolution
1963 Bay Count
1962 Royal Khora
1961 England's Dust
1960 Rendition
1959 Fairetha
1958 Fairetha
1957 Elmsfield
1955 Yabaroo
1955 Lenarc
1954 Beau Scot
1953 Raconteur
1952 Avarna
1950 Azennis
1949 Beau Vasse
1949 Gurkha
1948 Kingscote
1947 Sydney James
1946 Maddington
1945 Gay Parade
1944 Loyalist
1942 Ragtime
1942 Temple Chief
1941 Fernridge
1939 Tomito
1938 Maikai
1938 Gay Balkan
1937 Manolive
1936 Picaro
1935 Cueesun
1933 Cueesun
1932 Alienist
1932 Bonny Note
1931 The Dimmer
1930 Coolbarro
1929 Jemidar
1927 Au Fait
1927 Phoenix Park
1925 Mercato
1925 Great Applause
1923 Lilypond
1922 Jolly Cosy
1921 Earl Of Seafield
1920 Seigneur
1919 Rivose
1918 Macadam
1917 Downing Street
1916 Lucky Escape
1915 Irish Knight
1914 Dollar Dictator
1913 Artesian
1912 Sparkle
1911 Artesian
1910 Jolly Beggar
1909 Loch Shiel
1908 Scorcher
1907 Post Town
1906 May King
1905 Czarovitch
1904 Blue Spec
1903 Cypher
1902 Novitiate
1901 Flintlock
1901 Australian
1900 Carbineer
1899 Mural
1898 Le Var
1897 Snapshot
1896 Inverary
1895 Durable
1894 Scarpia
1893 Scarpia
1892 Wandering Willie
1891 The Duke
1890 Wandering Willie
1889 Aim
1888 Telephone
1887 First Prince

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers