Underwood Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Underwood Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Underwood Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Underwood Stakes.

One of the important races considered a preparation for the Cox Plate and Caulfield Cup during the Melbourne spring racing carnival is the Group 1 Underwood Stakes hosted by the Melbourne Racing Club held in September each year.

Horses three years old and over travel 1800 metres of Caulfield Racecourse under weight for age conditions in a bid to prove their ability to conquer middle distances over the season. The race is worth $750,000 in prize money. The race is held on the same day as the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

The Underwood Stakes is the first Group 1 race in Melbourne during the spring carnival. Other major races of the day include the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes, Thousand Guineas Prelude, and How Now Stakes. The race is the ideal event for trainers to test their horses for their ability to stretch over the mile and step up to longer distances up to 2400 metres over the season. For punters, horses that tackle the Underwood Stakes ought to be watched closely over the season with the potential to become Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate winners and place getters. The Yalumba Stakes is also another likely race than many horses may tackle after the Underwood Stakes.

Some of the finest gallopers to claim the Underwood Stakes in earlier times include Heroic, Phar Lap, Ajax, Big Philou, Lord, Tobin Bronze, and Rain Lover. Rubiton followed suit in 1987 while Octagonal and Tie The Knot won in 1996 and 1998 respectively. Northerly scored back to back victories in 2001-02 while Elvstroem won in 2004 and Weekend Hussler triumphed in 2008.

The Underwood Stakes was held in 1924 as a principal race with Whittier winning two consecutive titles. It became a Group 1 race in 1979 and has enjoyed the status ever since.

From 1948 the race was moved to Caulfield Racecourse, the 8 furlong was increased to 9 furlongs (approx. 1800m). This was until 1954 when it was once again increased by another furlong. Eventually in 1994 the race became a definite 1800 metre race.

Year Underwood Stakes Winners
2020 Russian Camelot
2019 Black Heart Bart
2018 Homesman
2017 Bonneval
2016 Black Heart Bart
2015 Mourinho
2014 Foreteller
2013 It's A Dundeel
2012 Ocean Park
2011 Lion Tamer
2010 So You Think
2009 Heart Of Dreams
2008 Weekend Hustler
2007 Rubiscent
2006 El Segundo
2005 Perlin
2004 Elvstroem
2003 Mummify
2002 Northerly
2001 Northerly
2000 Oliver Twist
1999 Intergaze
1998 Tie The Knot
1997 Always Aloof
1996 Octagonal
1995 Sharscay
1994 Jeune
1993 Runyon
1992 Prince Salieri
1991 Dr. Grace
1990 The Phantom
1989 Almaarad
1988 Authaal
1987 Rubiton
1986 Bonecrusher
1985 Tristarc
1984 Bounty Hawk
1983 Trissaro
1982 Fearless Pride
1981 Sovereign Red
1980 My Brown Jug
1979 Valley Of Georgia
1978 So Called
1977 Denise's Joy
1976 How Now
1975 Taras Bulba
1974 Frozen Section
1973 Scotch And Dry
1972 Sobar
1971 Gay Icarus
1970 Big Philou
1969 Rain Lover
1968 Lowland
1967 Future
1966 Tobin Bronze
1965 Future
1964 Contempler
1963 Havelock
1962 Aquanita
1961 Aquanita
1960 Lord
1959 Trellios
1958 Lord
1957 Syntax
1956 Ray Ribbon
1955 Cromis
1954 Flying Halo
1953 Flying Halo
1952 Ellerslie
1951 Laurie Hussar
1950 Beau Gem
1949 Beau Gem
1948 Royal Gem
1947 Attley
1946 Attley
1945 St. Fairy
1944 Amana
1944 Tea Cake
1943 Gay Revelry
1942 not held
1941 Sun Valley
1940 Ajax
1939 Ajax
1938 Ajax
1937 Young Idea
1936 Peter Fils
1935 Young Idea
1934 Hall Mark
1933 Hall Mark
1932 Liberal
1931 Phar Lap
1930 Waterline
1929 Highland
1928 Highland
1927 Royal Charter
1926 Heroic
1925 Whttier
1924 Whittier

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers