One Thousand Guineas Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Thousand Guineas run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Thousand Guineas

Winners and Past Results for the Thousand Guineas.

Some of the top three year old fillies come under the starter's orders in the Thousand Guineas at Caulfield Racecourse in October during the Melbourne spring racing carnival.

Fillies travel 1600 metres of the Caulfield track under set weight conditions. The race is hosted by Melbourne Racing Club with a tidy purse of $500,000 in prize money up for grabs. The male equivalent of the race, the Caulfield Guineas.

Punters ought to follow the progress of horses from the Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes held earlier on Turnbull Stakes day at Flemington Racecourse over the same distance, which has produced a number of winners and place getters over the years. Special Harmony won the Manifold Stakes/Thousand Guineas double in 2003 while Alinghi followed suit the next year. Gallica also achieved the feat in 2008. Miss Finland in 2006 and Serious Speed in 2007 placed well in the Edward Manifold Stakes before winning here.

Level weights favour the better performing three year old fillies who may then move on to tackle the Group 2 Wakeful Stakes at Flemington in November over an extended distance of 2000 metres and the Group 1 Crown Oaks also at the same track, a week later during the Flemington Carnival. Among the notable fillies to win the Thousand Guineas/Crown Oaks double include Richfield Lady in 1991, Arobrea in 1993, followed by Northwood Plume the next year. Magical Miss achieved the feat in 2011 while Special Harmony was next in 2003, followed by Miss Finland in 2006.

Sweet Chime went down in history as the first winner of the Thousand Guineas as a principal race in 1946. It was promoted to Group 1 in 1979 and has remained so ever since. There is no doubt that the lead up races gives punters a good sighter when it comes to picking a winner and place getter although track conditions and peak fitness play an important role as well.

Year Thousand Guineas Winners
2020 Odeum
2019 Flit
2018 Amphitrite
2017 Aloisia
2016 Global Glamour
2015 Stay With Me
2014 Amicus
2013 Guelph
2012 Commanding Jewel
2011 Atlantic Jewel
2010 Yosei
2009 Irish Lights
2008 Gallica
2007 Serious Speed
2006 Miss Finland
2005 Mnemosyne
2004 Alinghi
2003 Special Harmony
2002 Macedon Lady
2001 Magical Miss
2000 All Time High
1999 Shizu
1998 Inaflury
1997 Lady Of The Pines
1996 Dashing Eagle
1995 Shame
1994 Northwood Plume
1993 Arborea
1992 Azzurro
1991 Richfield Lady
1990 Whisked
1989 Tristanagh
1988 Riverina Charm
1987 Bianco Flyer
1986 Magic Flute
1985 Shankhill Lass
1984 Goleen
1983 Perfect Bliss
1982 Rom's Stiletto
1981 Copperama
1980 Biscadale
1979 Brava Jeannie
1978 Kapalaran
1977 Princess Talaria
1976 Savoir
1975 Toy Show
1974 Sufficient
1973 Just Topic
1972 Toltrice
1971 What's The Verdict
1970 Tango Miss
1969 Wood Court Inn
1968 Our Faith
1967 Begonia Belle
1966 Cendrillon
1965 Gipsy Queen
1964 Reveille
1963 Heirloom
Anna Rose
1962 Regal Peace
1961 Indian Summer
1960 Wenona Girl
1959 Chaise
1958 But Beautiful
1957 Goldenway
1956 Bendrum
1955 Brimses
1954 Lady Mogambo
1953 Olympic Girl
1952 Trunnion
1951 Golden Chariot
1950 True Course
1949 Chicquita
1948 Siren Song
1947 Nizam's Ring
1946 Sweet Chime
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Great Odds
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers