Rubiton Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Rubiton Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Rubiton Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Rubiton Stakes.

The Group 2 Rubiton Stakes is a 1100 metre sprint race hosted by Melbourne Racing Club during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival in February. The race was elevated from a Group 3 event to a Group 2 in August 2013.

The Rubiton Stakes is named after the 1987 Cox Plate winner Rubiton.

The race is held under set weight plus penalties conditions at Caulfield Racecourse with a prize pool of $200,000.

The event is held on one of the biggest days of Melbourne Racing Club's autumn carnival which features the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes. A number of talented sprinters have etched their name on the trophy over the years.

The Rubiton Stakes is often taken out by a quality sprinter returning from a spell or an above average galloper seeking to add another black type title to their resume.

It is also a springboard for major group races during the season which include the Group 1 Lightning Stakes at Flemington Racecourse. Top performers may also fancy their chances in the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate at Caulfield over the same distance.

Among the top line gallopers to take home the Rubiton Stakes are Zeditave in 1989, Redelva in 1991, Spartacus in 1997, while Super Elegant held on to the title thrice between 2003-05. Schillaci won his first Rubiton Stakes in 1993 and then came back strongly to win again in 1995. Here De Angels followed the same pattern in 2008 and 2010.

Zeditave goes down in the history books as the first to win the Rubiton Stakes as a listed race in 1989. It was quickly elevated to Group 3 and has remained so ever since. It was also a weight for age event prior to becoming a set weight and penalties race in 2010.

Year Rubiton Stakes Winners
2020 Anaheed
2019 Nature Strip
2018 Super Cash
2017 Super Cash
2016 Heatherly
2015 Chautauqua
2014 Lankan Rupee
2013 Adebisi
2012 Eagle Falls
2011 Catapulted
2010 Here De Angels
2009 Mind Your Head
2008 Here De Angels
2007 Dance The Waves
2006 Bomber Bill
2005 Super Elegant
2004 Super Elegant
2003 Super Elegant
2002 Intelligent Star
2001 Appoint
2000 Miss Pennymoney
1999 Flavour
1998 Al Mansour
1997 Spartacus
1996 Stalk
1995 Schillaci
1994 Alannon
1993 Schillaci
1992 Mavournae
1991 Redelva
1990 Kingston Heritage
1989 Zeditave