Caulfield Classic Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Caulfield Classic run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Caulfield Classic

Winners and Past Results for the Caulfield Classic.

The Caulfield Classic is a Group 3 event race for three year olds, held annually in October during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival at Caulfield Racecourse.

The 2000 metre event is worth $500,000 in prize money and is hosted by the Melbourne Racing Club. It is usually held on the final day of the carnival, on the same day of the Group 1 Caulfield Cup. The conditions for this race are set weights plus penalties.

The Caulfield Classic was first run in 1978, it is one of the youngest events at the carnival. The first race was known as the Wallace Stakes, which was won by Society Beau. It gained its present name the following year, with the 1989 race being registered as the Steeves Lumley Stakes. When established in 1978, it was a Listed Race, gaining Group 3 Status in 1998. The race was awarded greater prestige as a Group 2 race in 2000 but was downgraded again by the officials of Melbourne Racing Club to a Group 3 in 2005.

The Caulfield Classic is the first of the middle distance races for three year old gallopers during the spring carnival, and as such attracts top line horses. Recent history has shown that the better horses have an advantage over the field, with the race usually being won by handy 3 years olds rather than a top liner. Horses come here from competing in the any of the following races, the 1600 M Group 3 Newcastle Spring Stakes, 1800 M Group 3 Gloaming Stakes or the 2000 M Group 3 Craven Plate. Some horses may come in from the 1600 M Group 2 Bill Stutt Stakes held at Moonee Valley. The Group 1 Caulfeild Guineas, run the previous Saturday at the same course is also a good lead up race for the Caulfield Classic, especially if the horse ran strong on the day.

Most of the trainers use the Caulfield Classic as a test or a lead up race to the longer staying races later in the season. The Caulfield Classic contenders usually go on to compete in the 2500 M Group 1 AAMI Victoria Derby . The Victoria Derby, held at Flemington Racecourse, is considered to be the premier race for three year olds of the season, and is usually held a fortnight after the Caulfield Classic.

Some of the top performers may go on to tackle the 2040 M Group 2 AAMI Vase on Cox Plate Day at Moonee Valley or the Group 3 Geelong Cup over 2400 metres at Geelong Racecourse in Melbourne. Notable stayers to score in the Caulfield Classic include Blackfriars in 1999, Shamoline Warrior in 2009, Retrieve in 2010 and Sabrage in 2011.

Year Caulfield Classic Winners
2019 Thought Of That
2018 Thinkin' Big
2017 Cliff's Edge
2016 Good Standing
2015 Sacred Eye
2014 Fontein Ruby
2013 Polanski
2012 Hvasstan
2011 Sabrage
2010 Retrieve
2009 Shamoline Warrior
2008 Pre Eminence
2007 Pillar Of Hercules
2006 Get Square
2005 Pendragon
2004 Cedar Manor
2003 Casual Pass
2002 Platinum Scissors
2001 Amalfi
2000 Royale Exit
1999 Blackfriars
1998 Lawyer
1997 Brave Prince
1996 Mustang Ranch
1995 Nothin' Leica Dane
1994 Punctual
1993 Battle Hawk
1992 River Hero
1991 Lady Purpose
1990 Big Dermott
1989 Counterfeit
1988 Panneria
1987 Omnicorp
1986 Dundas Lane
1985 Born To Be Queen
1984 Gold Deck
1983 King Delamere
1982 Brightman
1981 Lordship
1980 Bright Halo
1979 Attack
1978 Society Beau

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers