Eclipse Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Eclipse Stakes run at the Sandown Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Eclipse Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Eclipse Stakes

A Group 3 race held at Sandown Racecourse every November in Victoria, Melbourne is the popular Eclipse Stakes.

The event is generally held at the end of the Melbourne spring racing carnival and it also provides one last chance to many jockeys, horses and trainers to win the big money.

The Eclipse Stakes is a Group 3 event and is a race held under open handicap conditions. Handicap conditions attract a wide range of horses to compete together for the huge amount of prize-money. The Eclipse Stakes race, hosted by the Melbourne Racing Club is run over a distance of 1800 metres with prize money worth $150,000 on offer. Earlier, Eclipse Stakes was scheduled after Sandown Classic Day but recently, in 2011 it was moved before the Sandown Classic Day to create a card with four group races.

Earlier on, the Eclipse Stakes was a listed race between 1934-1996 and was elevated to Group 3 in 1997. As earlier said, the Eclipse Stakes is held at Sandown Racecourse, so let's study some features and peculiarities of the Sandown Racecourse. The Sandown Racecourse was built as early as 1965 and is considered by many as the only metropolitan racecourse ever built in the 20th century. The Victoria Amateur Turf Club (VATC), first administered the Sandown Racecourse.

There are four main types of races which are being held at Sandown Racecourse and they are: Sandown Classic, under weight for age conditions for covering a distance of 2400 metres, Sandown Guineas, under set weights conditions for covering a distance of 1600 metres, Sandown Stakes, under handicap conditions for covering a distance of 1500 metres and last but not the least, is the Eclipse Stakes, held under handicap conditions for covering a distance of 1800 metres. The Eclipse Stakes is the last group race of the spring racing carnival in Melbourne .

The middle distance race generally attracts those horses coming from longer races held during the Flemington Carnival.

The Eclipse Stakes also attracts those jockeys who earlier participated in the Group 3 Matriarch Stakes on Emirates Day. The long and straight Sandown Racecourse test a horse's mettle in the long run and this race is particularly suitable for horses who have the staying ability to stretch over a mile.

Recently, Rothero won in 2011, followed up by Viking Hero in 2010 and Bashful Girl in 2009 in Eclipse Stakes race events.

Year Eclipse Stakes Winners
2020 So Si Bon
2019 Pacodali
2018 Tally
2017 Payroll
2016 Turnitaround
2015 Casino Dancer
2014 Zabisco
2013 Mouro
2012 Eclair Surprise
2011 Rothera
2010 Viking Hero
2009 Bashful Girl
2008 Eskimo Dan
2007 Like It Is
2006 Utility
2005 Aqua D'Amore
2004 Requisite
2003 Zazzman
2002 Damaschino
2001 Fields Of Omagh
2000 Tickle My
1999 Taberann
1998 Prime Address
1997 Burning Embers
1996 Gold City
1995 Broann
1994 Innocent King
1993 Palareign
1992 Fraar
1991 Luisant Bijou
1990 Gamine
1989 Eastern Classic
1988 Super Impose
1987 Prince Gano
1986 So Vague
1985 So Vague
1984 Brave Salute
1983 Allez Bijou
1982 Range Rover
1981 Pride Of Century
1980 Raspadora
1979 Bit Of A Skite
1978 Minuetto
1977 Princess Veronica
1976 Better Draw
1975 Shiftmar
1974 Leica Lover
1973 Perfect Time
1972 Adrian
1971 Sky Call
1970 What's Brewing
1969 Our Faith
1968 Wings Of The Morning
1967 Sunhaven
1966 Gala Crest
1965 Beau Guard
1964 Tobacco Leaf
1963 Bengal Tiger
1962 Delville
1961 Teppo Star
1960 Savage
1959 Dawdie
1958 Famed
1957 Roman Holiday
1956 Baystone
1955 Kosciusko
1954 Veiled Peak
1953 Rio Janeiro
1952 Morse Code
1951 Merry Scout
1950 Morse Code
1949 Bruin
1948 Kongmeng
1947 Fine Fettle
1946 Propontis
1945 Don Pedro
1944 Peter
1943 not held
1942 not held
1941 Lucrative
1940 True Flight
1939 Maikai
1938 Manolive
1937 Balkan Prince

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers