Caulfield Guineas Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Caulfield Guineas run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Caulfield Guineas

Winners and Past Results for the Caulfield Guineas.

The Group 1 Caulfield Guineas hosted by the Melbourne Racing Club is a race for three year old horses held at the Caulfield Racecourse during the spring racing carnival. The Race has prize money worth $2,000,000.

The race is run under set weight conditions over a distance of 1600 metres with a million dollars at stake for the winners.

The Caulfield Guineas is one of the highlights of the spring racing carnival in Melbourne in October which is held on the first day of the three day Caulfield carnival. Other races scheduled for the day are the Toorak Handicap and Yalumba Stakes. The race is a lead up to the Group 1 Caulfield Cup on the following Saturday.

The Caulfield Guineas attracts some of the best colts, geldings, and fillies that are quality milers with the potential to win bigger events like the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup during the season. Over the years, racegoers have witnessed some of the most classic tussles between the strongest milers like Lonhro, Redoute's Choice, Weekend Husler, and Mahogany in recent times.

Colts and geldings seem to dominate the Caulfield Guineas in recent years with Surround being the last filly to win it back in 1976. The race is a good form guide for the WS Cox Plate, where many winners find themselves with a good weight advantage over older horses.

Some horses that perform well in the Group 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude perform even stronger in the event. Helmet, winner in 2011 scored a Caulfield Guineas Prelude/Caulfield Guineas double. Horses may gain acceptance in the Group 2 AAMI Vase at Moonee Valley Racecourse, Group 1 Oakleigh Plate, and Group 1 Newmarket Handicap. Manawanui, runner up in 2011, lifted the AAMI Vase in his next start.

In 2009, Starspangledbanner won the Oakleigh Plate and made it into the international arena. Third in 2009, Manhattan Rain ran impressively in the 2009 Cox Plate, finishing in second place, behind So You Think who was relegated to 5th position in the 2009 Guineas.

The Victoria Derby is another major race for classy milers that perform well in the Caulfield Guineas. In 2008, Whobegotyou went on to claim the AAMI Vase at Moonee Valley and then finished a close second in the Group 1 Victoria Derby at Flemington Racecourse.

The Guineas began as a principal race in 1881 and achieved Group 1 status in 1979.

Year Caulfield Guineas Winners
2020 Ole Kirk
2019 Super Seth
2018 The Autumn Sun
2017 Mighty Boss
2016 Divine Prophet
2015 Press Statement
2014 Shooting to Win
2013 Long John
2012 All Too Hard
2011 Helmet
2010 Anacheeva
2009 Starspangledbanner
2008 Whobegotyou
2007 Weekend Hustler
2006 Wonderful World
2005 God's Own
2004 Econsul
2003 In Top Swing
2002 Helenus
2001 Lonhro
2000 Show A Heart
1999 Redoute's Choice
1998 Kenwood Melody
1997 Encounter
1996 Alfa
1995 Our Maizcay
1994 St. Covet
1993 Mahogany
1992 Palace Reign
1991 Chortle
1990 Centro
1989 Procol Harum
1988 Vitalic
1987 Marwong
1986 Abaridy
1985 Drawn
1984 Red Anchor
1983 Beechcraft
1982 Grosvenor
1981 Binbinga
1980 Sovereign Red
1979 Runaway Kid
1978 Manikato
1977 Luskin Star
1976 Surround
1975 Sou'Wester
1974 Kenmark
1973 Grand Cidium
1972 Sobar
1971 Beau Sovereign
1970 Dual Choice
1969 Vain
1968 Rajah Sahib
1967 Dark Purple
1966 Storm Queen
1965 Star Affair
1964 Yangtze
1963 Time And Tide
1962 Coppelius
1961 King Brian
1960 Lady Sybil
1959 Prince Lea
1958 Wiggle
1957 Tulloch
1956 Hot Spell
1955 Caranna
1954 King Boru
1953 Barfleur
1952 Bayside
1951 Hydrogen
1950 Merry Scout
1949 Iron Duke
1948 Phoibos
1947 Hororata
1946 Praetor
1945 Attley
Royal Gem
1944 Kintore
1943 Lawrence
1942 Great Britain
1941 Tea Cake
1940 Lucrative
1939 High Caste
1938 Nuffield
1937 Ajax
1936 Beechwood
1935 Young Idea
1934 Theo
1933 Palphar
1932 Liberal
1931 Ammon Ra
1930 Green Wave
1929 Pentheus
1928 Balmerino
1927 Avant Courier
1926 Rampion
1925 Manacre
1924 Heroic
1923 King Carnival
1922 Soorak
1921 Demetrius
1920 Midilli
1919 Artilleryman
1918 Eusebius
1917 Thrice
1916 Ettefred
1915 Patrobas
1914 Blague
1913 Andelosia
1912 Burrawang
1911 Woolerina
1910 Danaus
1909 Malt King
1908 Parsee
1907 Master Foote
1906 Booran
1905 Lady Wallace
1904 Demas
1903 Sweet Nell
1902 Strata Florida
1901 Ibex
1900 Kinglike
1899 Tremarden
1898 Bobadil
1897 Aurum
1896 The Officer
1895 Wallace
1894 Cobbity
1893 Patron
1892 Autonomy
1891 Strathmore
1890 Annesley
1889 Rudolph
1888 Volley
1887 Carlyon
1886 Maddelina
1885 Ringmaster
1884 Sandal
1883 Sardius
1882 Fryingpan
1881 Wheatear
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Great Odds
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers