Carlyon Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Carlyon Cup run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Carlyon Cup

Winners and Past Results for the Carlyon Cup.

The Melbourne Racing Club plays host to the Group 3 Carlyon Cup every year in February.

The 1600 meter race is held at the Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne during the autumn racing carnival. The open race is run under set weight & penalties conditions with the winner banking a major share of $150,000.

Some of the most talented milers have etched their name on the Carlyon Cup which include Hyperno (1978), Super Impose (1989), Veandercross (1993), Northerly (2001), Apache Cat (2007), Rightfully Yours (2010) and most recently Lord Pyrus in 2011. Lord Pyrus came into the race with a win in a RB89 handicap over 1410 meters at Flemington Racecourse.

The Cup is held along with 7 other Group races including the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes, Blue Diamond Preludes, Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes and the Rubiton Stakes.

Horses that put up a good performance in the Carlyon Cup are likely to enter Group 2 races like the Blamey Stakes at Flemington in March. Talented gallopers have made their way through the race, which proves that it's a stepping stone for many milers.

Set weight plus penalty favours the above average horses which is evident from statistics.

Ngawyni was the first to lift the Carlyon Cup in 1977 as a principal race. It was elevated to Group 2 status in 1980 with horses covering a distance of 2000 meters. In 2003, the Carlyon Cup was downgraded to Group 3.

Fourth placed in 2011, Vivid Vixen went on to finish third in the Listed Kilmore Cup. She later won the Pakenham Cup and was runner up in the Epona Stakes at Rosehill Racecourse. The talented filly was placed second in the Rainbow Cup and then broke through in the ACG Security Stakes at Morphettville Racecourse over a distance of 2000 meters, winning eight of her 18 starts by the beginning of May 2011.

Vivid Vixen came into the Carlyon Cup with four wins from six starts. 1989 winner, Super Impose, improved with every race after the Carlyon Cup with major victories in the Turnbull Stakes and a runner up berth in the Australian Cup and Melbourne Cup in the same year. He continued his form into the next year by winning the Doncaster Handicap and Epsom Handicap in style.

For punters, horses that put up a reasonably good performance in the Carlyon Cup ought to be followed closely over the season.

Year Carlyon Cup Winners
2020 Miss Siska
2019 Avilius
2018 Gailo Chop
2017 Burning Front
2016 Burning Front
2015 Smokin' Joey 
2014 Chase The Rainbow
2013 Budriguez
2012 Manighar
2011 Lord Pyrus
2010 Rightfully Yours
2009 Time Matters
2008 Publishing
2007 Apache Cat
2006 Live In Vain
2005 Niagara Falls
2004 La Sirenuse
2003 No Deposit
2002 Piper Star
2001 Northerly
2000 Skoozi Please
1999 Thackeray
1998 Delinquent
1997 Peep On The Sly
1996 Toil
1995 Starstruck
1994 Station Hand
1993 Veandercross
1992 Cool Credit
1991 Prince Salieri
1990 Marwong
1989 Super Impose
1988 Black Charleston
1987 Cossack Warrior
1986 The Vagrant
1985 Astrolin
1984 Admiral Lincoln
1983 Trissaro
1982 Granite King
1981 Mr. Independent
1980 There You Go
1979 Marceau
1978 Hyperno
1977 Ngawyni