Kevin Hayes Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Kevin Hayes Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results for the Kevin Hayes Stakes

The Group 3 Kevin Hayes Stakes is actually registered as the Boronia Stakes. Boronia is a name given to a group of flowering plants that are primarily found in Australia.

We have heard of a major horse race called The Run for the Roses, but wrong continent, as that race is the Kentucky Derby, one of the few races that could be identified by the majority of the citizens of the United States.

There is no Run for the Boronias;

While a flower name does make a good race name, the Group 3 Boronia Stakes most likely got its name from the Melbourne suburb of Boronia, which is just a little beyond Caulfield Racecourse to the east of the Melbourne CBD.

Kevin Hayes was a former chairman of the Melbourne Racing Club from back in the days when it was known as the Victoria Amateur Turf Club.

The Group 3 Kevin Hayes Stakes is run in early February at Caulfield Racecourse. It is currently run as a 1200-metre sprint for three-year-old fillies competing at set weight plus penalty conditions.

It offers $160,000 in prizemoney.

Like some of the other Group 3 races staged by the MRC, the lion’s share of the prizemoney goes to the winner. When How Womantic won in 2020, she earned $96,000 - 60 percent of the purse. Second place went to Enfleurage, which earned $28,000 and the winning margin for How Womantic was just a third of a length, but it was a costly one third of a length, worth over $67,000.

History of the Kevin Hayes Stakes

This is a newer race by most standards. It was first run in 1984 and the list of names by which it was called is almost as long as the list of past winners.

It was the Catanach’s Handicap, the Jewel Handicap, the Jewel Stakes the Laurent Perrier Stakes, the Inglis Premier Yearling Stakes. Those names cover the years from 1984 through 1997.

In 1998, it was the Swamp King Sand Park Stakes, which was by far the best name and the one that should have been maintained, but our taste in race names is seldom consulted.

It became the Sandown Park Stakes in 1999, and then the Sandown Park Handicap in 2003.

It has been known as the Kevin Hayes Stakes since 2004.

The trip was 1400-metres initially, and then 1200, down to 1100, and then back to 1200 from 2000 forward.

It has been run at Caulfield exclusively, save for the year Caulfield was closed right after the 2005 Caulfield Cup to remodel the track.

It was a Listed Race from inception until 2014, when it became a Group 3 level race.

Race Venue

Caufield Racecourse in Melbourne is right behind Flemington in terms of significance. Along with the Caulfield Cup during spring racing, the venue stages about 20 meetings per year, with 12 Group 1 races as the main attraction, along with numerous Group 2 and Group 3 races.

Racing History of the Keven Hayes Stakes

With a short history, along with a gender and age restriction, the list of prior winners of the Kevin Hayes Stakes is a list of modest horses for the most part.

When How Womantic won in 2020, she came in as the favourite in the race and was unbeaten over her first three races. After winning the Kevin Hayes Stakes, she moved up in grade, but the Group 2 Kewney Stakes proved too much for her. She finished eighth. Moved down in level, she won a Benchmark 84 at Moonee Valley and ran second in a BM90 race at Caulfield. She was stone motherless in another run at Flemington, which was her last time out. She has Ciaron Maher and David Eustace for her trainers, though, so she may be heard from again.

Sabatini won in 2015. That race can be viewed here:

The truly significant horse to win the Kevin Hayes Stakes was 2009 winner Typhoon Tracy. She seemed to like the track at Caulfield, as she won two C F Orr Stakes there, along with a Group 1 Futurity Stakes. She won Group 1 races at Flemington, Rosehill and Randwick as well.

Typhoon Tracy was the Australian Racehorse of the Year and the Australian Champion Middle Distance Racehorse in 2010.

She died giving birth to her first foal in 2012.

We could not pass up the chance to look at 2003 Kevin Hayes Stakes winner Fair Embrace and 2002 winner Brief Embrace.

Both horses did okay, but we were expecting a common sire, but not only was that not the case, we were unable to identify a common ancestor.

None of the other winners of the Kevin Hayes Stakes seems to jump off the page or ring a name recognition bell for us, but that could change, as the race seems attractive to the connections of three-year old fillies who want to prepare for Group 2 and Group 1 races during the autumn carnival, return for spring racing, or try some interstate racing.


Run alongside the Group 1 C F Orr Stakes, the Group 3 Kevin Hayes Stakes is a decent race and will appeal to those connections who do not want to go against older fillies and mares or colts and geldings, but still seek a decent test of younger fillies that will help identify potential.

Top three-year-old fillies will be found elsewhere, but it is entirely possible that something along the lines of Typhoon Tracy might come along, but let’s hope it doesn’t take another cyclone destroying Darwin for that horse to arise.

La Mexicana
Year MRC Kevin Hayes Stakes Winner
2021 La Mexicana
2020 How Womantic
2019 Crack The Code
2018 Booker
2017 Fahryk
2016 Risque
2015 Sabatini
2014 Spirits Dance
2013 Octavia
2012 Soft Sand
2011 Miss Gai Flyer
2010 Set For Fame
2009 Typhoon Tracy
2008 Absolut Glam
2007 Gina Lollawitcha
2006 Chetwynd South
2005 Hollow Bullet
2004 French Bid
2002 Fair Embrace
2001 Queen Carey
2000 Heaps Of Fun
1999 Rainbow Bubbles
1998 Drop Anchor
1997 Chalee
1996 Rubidium
1995 Eccentricity
1994 Adagietto
1993 Crazy Neaux
1992 Rockabye
1991 Mahaasin
1990 Sister Canny
1989 Gilded Lily
1988 Golden Unicorn
1987 Fashion Fun
1986 Nancress
1985 Winged Keel
1984 Fork Tongue

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers