Join Here

Join Sportingbet Australia

Add your favourite horses to your free Black Book and be notified of its next race start

Sires Produce Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the ATC Sires Produce Stakes

ATC Sires Produce Stakes

The ATC Sires Produce Stakes is an Australian Turf Club Group 1 Australian horse race for two year olds run at set weights.

The ATC Sires Produce Stakes held at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney is run over 1400 meters.

The race, hosted by the Australian Turf Club is on a day when racing is at its peak with the Group 1 AJC Australian Derby, TJ Smith Stakes, and Group 2 Chairman Handicap and Sapphire Stakes among the major events on the same day. With $500,000 in prize money up for grabs, the race attracts the finest crop of 2 year olds just beginning their racing career and their first hope for glory in races over 1200 meters.

The race attracts a strong field with many contesting right after the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes held a fortnight before at Rosehill Racecourse. Those who run strongly in the Slipper are likely to put up a great contest at the ATC Sires Produce Stakes.

The ATC Sires Produce Stakes is a part of the ‘Triple Crown’ for two year olds along with the Golden Slipper that precedes and the 1600 meter Champagne Stakes that follows the event.

Originally a principal race, the first race was held in 1867 with Glencoe recorded as the first winner. In 1980, the event was elevated to Group 1 status, which was won by Shaybisc. The race distance changed over the years but has remained a 1400 meter race since 1973.

Among the early gallopers to win the ATC Sires Produce Stakes are Ajax in 1937, Tulloch in 1957, Wenona in 1960, St. Covet in 1994, and Octagonal in 1995.

The race is an excellent warm up for the last leg of the Triple Crown, which is the Group 1 Champagne Stakes held on the final day of the autumn racing carnival at Randwick.

Second in the AJC Sires Produce Stakes, Meurice and Samantha Miss went on to win the Champagne Stakes in 2007 and 2008 respectively. Onemorenomore, placed fourth in 2009, improved on his form to win the Champagne Stakes, followed by Tickets who ran second in both races.

Horses to produce a Produce Stakes/Champagne Stakes double include Assertive Lad, Viscount, Victory Vein, Hasna, and Dance Hero between 2000 and 2004 respectively. Horses from the ATC Sires Produce Stakes also move on to the Group 1 Thousand Guineas at Caulfield and the Robert Sangster Stakes. Triple Crown winners include Baguette in 1970, Luskin Star in 1977, Tierce in 1991, Burst in 1992, and Dance Hero in 2004.

2014 ATC Sires Produce Stakes

Time For War and Unencumbered were the early leaders, a few spots ahead of Cornrow. There was a gap to the second half of the field, where Scratch Me Lucky raced on the fence and Peggy Jean was towards the rear of the field. On the home turn, Time For War and Unencumbered were still in front but Peggy Jean was weaving through the field and Scratch Me Lucky was running on along the rail. Scratch Me Lucky and Peggy Jean cleared out from the rest with Peggy Jean proving too strong in their matchrace. Cornrow was always handy without threatening and took third.

2014 ATC Sires Produce Stakes result

1. Peggy Jean
2. Scratch Me Lucky
3. Cornrow

Then came:

4. Time For War
5. Zululand
6. Kumaon
7. Unencumbered
8. Lucky Raquie
9. Unknown Destiny
10. Believe Yourself
11. Miss Interiors

Year ATC Sires Produce Stakes Winners
2014 Peggy Jean
2013 Guelph
2012 Pierro
2011 Helmet
2010 Yosei
2009 Manhattan Rain
2008 Sebring
2007 Camarilla
2006 Excites
2005 Fashions Afield
2004 Dance Hero
2003 Hasna
2002 Victory Vein
2001 Viscount
2000 Assertive Lad
1999 Align
1998 Alf
1997 Encounter
1996 Merlene
1995 Octagonal
1994 St. Covet
1993 Tristalove
1992 Burst
1991 Tierce
1990 Rhythmic Charm
1989 Reganza
1988 Comely Girl
1987 Snippets
1986 Diamond Shower
1985 Wonga Prince
1984 Victory Prince
1983 Keepers
1982 Mighty Manitou
1981 Full On Aces
1980 Shaybisc
1979 Zephyr Zip
1978 Karaman
1977 Luskin Star
1976 Desirable
1975 Toy Show
1974 Gretel
1973 Tontonan
1972 Sovereign Slipper
1971 Latin Knight
1970 Baguette
1969 Beau Babylon
1968 Black Onyx
1967 Ruling Ways
1966 Prince Max
1965 Peace Council
1964 Eskimo Prince
1963 Time And Tide
1962 Bogan Road
1961 Young Brolga
1960 Wenona Girl
1959 Fine And Dandy
1958 Man Of Iron
1957 Tulloch
1956 Gay Sierra
1955 Kingster
1954 Lindbergh
1953 Royal Stream
1952 Pure Fire
1951 Ocean Bound
1950 True Course
1949 Field Boy
1948 Riptide
1947 Temeraire
1946 Flying Duke
1945 Magnificent
1944 Shannon
1943 Mayfowl
1942 Hall Stand
1941 Yaralla
1940 Lucrative
1939 Reading
1938 Nuffield
1937 Ajax
1936 Gold Rod
1935 Young Idea
1934 Dark Sky
1933 Hall Mark
1932 Kuvera
1931 Ammon Ra
1930 The Doctor's Orders
1929 Honour
1928 Mollison
1927 Royal Feast
1926 Cyden
1925 Los Gatos
1924 Leslie Wallace
1923 The Monk
1922 Soorak
1921 Furious
1920 Glenacre
1919 Millieme
1918 Outlook
1917 Thrice
1916 Thana
1915 Cetigne
1914 Imshi
1913 Radnor
1912 Wolawa
1911 Gillamatong
1910 Beverage
1909 Prince Foote
1908 Malt Queen
1907 The Owl
1906 Collarit
1905 Binnia
1893 Light Artillery
1892 Autonomy
1891 Stromboli
1890 Titan
1889 Rudolph
1888 Miss Thirza
1887 Abercorn
1886 Trident
1885 Uralla
1884 Garfield
1883 Warwick
1882 Jessie
1881 Spinningdale
1880 Geraldine
1880 Kamelaroi
1879 Nellie
1878 His Lordship
1877 Chester
1876 Robinson Crusoe
1875 Malta
1874 Kingsborough
1873 Rose D'Amour
1872 Lecturer
1871 Hamlet
1870 Lady Clifden
1869 Paradise
1868 Coquette
1867 Glencoe
Join Sportingbet Australia
Copyright © 2011 Pro Group Australia