Caulfield Cup History

The Caulfield Cup, held at Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria in October of every year.

The race is one of the Spring Carnival's most famous Group 1 Handicap races, as well as one of the most prestigious races in Australian horse racing. It follows the week after the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas for three year olds.

First run in 1879, The Caulfield Cup is a 2400 meter race. It is open to horses three years and older. The winning horse is generally considered the favourite for the Melbourne Cup. Today the race is worth $2.5 million dollars in prize money.

Past Winners

The 2010 Caulfield Cup was won by Descarado, the four year old ridden by Chris Munce, was trained by Gai Waterhouse, who holds the distinction of being only the third woman trainer to bring home the winner in the Cup in its 131 year history.

Sheila Laxon was the second woman trainer to win, with Ethereal, ridden by Scott Seamer in 2001. Horses from outside Australia and New Zealand first participated in the Caulfield Cup in 1998. That year was won by Taufan's Melody, who was trained by Lady Herries, the first woman to train the Caulfield Cup winner.

The other foreign horse to win was by Irish bred All The Good with Kerrin McEvoy aboard in 2008.

Poseidon was the first to win consecutive Cups in 1906 and 07. He also was the first of eleven horses to complete the Cups Double by following the Caulfield Cup with the Melbourne Cup.

The other cups double horses were The Trump (1937), Rivette (1939), Rising Fast (1954), Even Stevens (1962), Galilee (1966), Gurner's Lane (1982), Let's Elope (1991), Doriemus (1995), Might and Power (1997) and Ethereal (2001).

Rising Fast was the only other horse to win two years in a row: 1955 and 1956.

Four others have won two Cups: Ming Dynasty (1980 & 77), Whittier (1925 & 22), Uncle Sam (1914 & 12) and Paris (1894 & 92).

Most Successful Trainers & Jockeys

Hall of Fame trainer Bart Cummings has the record for most wins with seven over a 43 year span. He chalked up two wins with Ming Dynasty (see above). The others were Galilee (1966), Big Philou (1969), Leilani (1974), Let's Elope (1991) and Viewed (2009).

Damien Oliver is the most successful jockey in recent history, riding four winners, concluding with the 1999 winner Sky Heights.

Scobie Breasley rode five Caulfield Cup winners, with four consecutive from 1942 to 1945 and recorded his record fifth win in 1952 after a stint in England.

Notable Incidents

In 2007, Maldavian, the most prohibitive favourite in over 40 years, got spooked and hurt himself in the starting stalls, scaring the second priced favourite, Eskimo Queen, who was trapped underneath the stalls. Both horses were scratched, leading to cries of "Foul" by punters who were deprived of their wagers. Past Winners Of The Caulfied Cup

Caulfield Cup Betting

Rising Fast, the last horse to win the Cup two years running, started at 7/4, one of the shortest priced favourites to actually win the race. The legendary Tulloch went out at 6/4 when he won in 1957. Even shorter odds were on Tobin Bronze in 1966. He went out 11/8 odds on, but did not even place, finishing sixth. A $2.40 favourite in 2007, Maldivian was scratched at the starting line.

*© 2019 Promotional T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 1800 858 858

Subscribe to our mailing list and receive a Free Racing Ebook