The Vanity Stakes. Winners & Past Results For The Vanity Stakes

The Vanity run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results of The Vanity

Winners and Past Results The Vanity Stakes.

The Vanity Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-old fillies hosted by Victoria Racing Club during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival in February.

Fillies travel 1400 metres of the Flemington Racetrack under set weights & penalty conditions. The male equivalent of the race, the CS Hayes Stakes for colts & geldings is also held on the same day. The Vanity is worth $150,000 in prize money which is most often taken home by better performing fillies. The other feature race of the day is the Group 1 Lightning Stakes.

Being an early race in the year, fillies may make their way to The Vanity Stakes from a number of handicap events or even after a spell. However, the race is a handy form guide for future races during the season with many becoming multiple Group 1 winners over the season. Fillies may fancy their chances in the Group 2 Moonee Valley Classic at Moonee Valley in March. The Group 2 Kewney Stakes over 1400 metres at Flemington on Super Saturday in March is also another route that many fillies may take.

The Vanity began as a listed race in 1987 and was granted Group 3 status in 2000. It was briefly downgraded as a listed race once again in 2004 before stepping up to Group 3 once again the next year. Greeting in 1998 and Dextrous in 2003 are among the notable gallopers to take home The Vanity, while Ballet Society in 2005 and Southern Speed in 2011 also obliged their connections.

Year The Vanity Stakes Winner
2020 Bonvicini
2019 Amphitrite
2018 Rimraam
2017 Kenedna
2016 Don't Doubt Mamma
2015 Sweet And Speedy 
2014 Solicit
2013 Alzora
2012 Shopaholic
2011 Southern Speed
2010 Tallow
2009 Romneya
2008 Musidora
2007 Universal Queen
2006 Pure Joy
2005 Ballet Society
2004 Country Lodge
2003 Dextrous
2002 Gold Lottey
2001 Lan Kwai Fong
2000 Forest Express
1999 Rose O' War
1998 Greeting
1997 Akarana
1996 Saleous
1995 No Mischief
1994 Balm In Gilead
1993 Classy Twiggy
1992 Northern Bisque
1991 Irish Spree
1990 Dancer's Choice
1989 Very Droll
1988 Tennessee Vain
1987 Pseudonym Miss

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers