Maybe Mahal Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Maybe Mahal Stakes run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results for the Maybe Mahal Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Maybe Mahal Stakes.

The Maybe Mahal Stakes is a Group 3 race run under set weight and penalty conditions.

The race is for mares only and is run at Flemington Racecourse over 1400 metres on Melbourne Cup Tuesday during the Spring Racing Carnival. Prize money on offer is worth $200,000.

The Maybe Mahal Stakes was previously a listed race but was upgraded to Group 3 event in 2012.

The race is named in honour of Maybe Mahal, 1977-1978 Australian Racehorse of the Year and trained by Bart Cummings

The Maybe Mahal Stakes will usually attract top class mares in which many may have come from earlier races such the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes, Group 2 Blazer Stakes, Group 3 Moonga Stakes or the Group 2 Schweppes Stakes.

Those mares that race well in the Maybe Mahal Stakes may then go on and tackle races such as the Listed Summoned Stakes or the Group 3 Sandown Stakes at the Sandown Racecourse.

Year Maybe Mahal Stakes Winner
2018 Cool Passion
2017 Pedrena
2016 Artistry
2015 Scarlet Billows
2014 Mahara
2013 Plucky Belle
2012 Koonoomoo
2011 Sophie's Spirit
2010 Jersey Lily
2009 Strawberry Field
2008 Neroli
2007 Juste Momente
2006 Storm Signal
2005 Vintner