Matriarch Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Matriarch Stakes run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Matriarch Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Matriarch Stakes.

Started in 1995, the Matriarch Stakes is a 2000 metre Group 2 handicap event only for mares aged four and above.

The Matriach Stakes is hosted by the Victoria Racing Club and offers a cash prize of $300,000.

The Matriarch Stakes was initially a listed race till 2000, spending four years as a Group 3 race and then achieved Group 2 status in 2005 with a change of name as well. It was run as the Hilton International Stakes until 2008, after which it has been known as the Matriarch Stakes. The event is part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and usually takes place at Flemington Racecourse on Emirates Stakes Day, which is the last racing day of the Flemington carnival.

With two Group 1 events, the Emirates Stakes and the Patinack Farm Classic usually after this race, the Matriarch Stakes garners a lot of attention. Being one of the last races of the spring season, it usually fields handy mares who have managed to handle the circuit well, rather than the elite. The Matriarch Stakes is usually about quality more than quantity, as it always features a smaller group of horses, but all of them would have proven themselves capable to handle the 2000 meter, Group 2 event. The mares to look for are usually the ones with better strike rates and higher prize money averages.

Mares still at peak form, usually go on to the Group 2, weight for age, Zipping Sandown Classic run over 2400 metres or the Group 3 1800 metres quality handicap Eclipse Stakes, both held at the at the Sandown racecourse, Melbourne in November. The Matriarch Stakes cannot be considered as a strong form guide and has produced many odd winning mares who tend to be in form on the day. The winner in 2011, Vintedge came third in race at Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney in October and then second in a1700 metres handicap event at Flemington on Melbourne Cup day, before sweeping the Matriarch Stakes. There is a fair share of unexpected winners, like the 2010 winner, Well Rounded, who jumped to 50 to 1 odds with some bookmakers.

Also as with any race in this setting, there have been some great performers such as Big Colony who won the event both in 1991 and 1992 and Demerger in 2004 over Ain't Seen Nothin. Purple in 2009, was the closest to finish below two minutes, and create a new record. She ran second to Well Rounded in 2010. For the most part, the Matriarch Stakes is an event which cannot be judged accurately, and carries the chance of unexpected results, with a nice end to the spring campaign for a few lucky ones.

Year Matriarch Stakes Winners
2020 Affair To Remember
2019 Oceanex
2018 Kenedna
2017 Savapinski
2016 Jessy Belle
2015 Lucia Valentina
2014 Suavito
2013 Girl Gone Rockin'
2012 Midnight Martini
2011 Vintedge
2010 Well Rounded
2009 Purple
2008 Bird Of Fire
2007 Hidden Strings
2006 Tuesday Joy
2005 Sutology
2004 Demerger
2003 Sweet Corn
2002 Damaschino
2001 Piper Star
2000 Flushed
1999 Sly Sandra
1998 Laebeel
1997 Battocchi
1996 Gold City
1995 Magical Storm

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers