Makybe Diva Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Makybe Diva Stakes  run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Makybe Diva Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Makybe Diva Stakes.

Makybe Diva Stakes, formerly known as the Craiglee Stakes prior to 2007, is a Group 1 open race held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne during the spring racing carnival in September.

This race was upgraded from a Group 2 to a Group 1 event in early 2013.

The Makybe Diva Stakes is a weight for age race run over 1600 meters and is hosted by the Victoria Racing Club.

The event is dedicated to Australian Thoroughbred champion racehorse Makybe Diva, winner of three Melbourne Cups with prize money worth $750,000 offered to the winner.

The race suits solid sprinters and promising stayers that take advantage of Flemington's long straight. The Makybe Diva Stakes heralds the beginning of mile stakes races for the season. Other races held on the day include the Group 2 Danehill Stakes, Bobbie Lewis Quality, and Lets Elope Stakes.

The weight for age conditions favour horses carrying 57 – 58 kilos over the mile except for mares that have crossed the finish line carrying 54 kilos.

The Makybe Diva Stakes usually features a classy field with many horses becoming top performers in major Group 1 races. Horses may head for the Group 1 Underwood Stakes at Caulfield Racecourse with a number of horses scoring a Makybe Diva/Underwood Stakes double. Others may tackle the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes at Flemington in October.

After winning in 2010, Shocking ran second in the Turnbull Stakes and made a strong comeback in the Group 1 Australian Cup during the autumn racing carnival at Flemington. Earlier in 2009, Shocking also won the Melbourne Cup. In the same year, Monaco Consul improved on his seventh place in the Makybe Diva Stakes, finishing second in the Group 1 Caulfield Cup in October.

In form sprinters and stayers that compete in the Makybe Diva Stakes have a great season ahead of them.

The Group 2 Tristarc Stakes at Caulfield and the Group 1 Myer Classic at Flemington on Derby Day are among the notable races that have had placegetters or winners from the Makybe Diva Stakes perform brilliantly. Runner up in 2009, Typhoon Tracy won the Tristarc Stakes at Caulfield and the Group 1 Myer Classic. Northerly, Australia's champion middle distance runner early in the millennium won the 2002 Makybe Diva Stakes, and then trounced the toughest opposition in the Turnbull Stakes, Caulfield Cup, and WS Cox Plate in the same year.

Makybe Diva Stakes early winners include Comic Court in 1949, 1965 Melbourne Cup winner Light Fingers, and Rain Lover who also won the Melbourne Cup in 1969.

The fastest winning time for the Makybe Diva Stakes was recorded by Jeune in 1995 with 1 minute 35 seconds. The slowest time for the Makybe Diva Stakes was recorded by Fine Offer in 1985 with 1 minute 44.3 seconds.

Year Makybe Diva Stakes Winners
2020 Fierce Impact
2019 Gatting
2018 Grunt
2017 Humidor
2016 Palentino
2015 Fawkner
2014 Dissident
2013 Foreteller
2012 Southern Speed
2011 Littoria
2010 Shocking
2009 Vigor
2008 Weekend Hustler
2007 Marasco
2006 Pompeii Ruler
2005 Confectioner
2004 Hugs Dancer
2003 Pentastic
2002 Northerly
2001 Native Jazz
2000 Go Flash Go
1999 Sky Heights
1998 Umrum
1997 Marble Halls
1996 Saleous
1995 Jeune
1994 Mahogany
1993 Mannerism
1992 Star Of The Realm
1991 Durbridge
1990 Zabeel
1989 Apollo Run
1988 High Regard
1987 Military Plume
1986 King Phoenix
1985 Fine Offer
1984 Prolific
1983 Pleach
1982 Rose Of Kingston
1981 Sovereign Red
1980 Big Print
1979 Dulcify
1978 Family Of Man
1977 Ming Dynasty
1976 How Now
1975 Tontonan
1974 All Shot
1973 Gay Icarus
1972 Gossiper
1971 Dual Choice
1970 Gay Poss
1969 Rain Lover
1968 Lowland
1967 Stellar Belle
1966 Tobin Bronze
1965 Light Fingers
1964 Sir Dane
1963 Havelock
1962 Aquanita
1961 Lord
1960 Nilarco
1959 Vogel
1958 White Hills
1957 Sailor's Guide
1956 Sailor's Guide
1955 Cromis
1954 Acramitis
1953 Aldershot
1952 Great Western
1951 Chicquita
1950 Chicquita
1949 Comic Court
1948 Lungi
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers