Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

PGR will always be free to use (yay!). However, we will receive a referral fee from the brands when you sign up to them through us and this may affect the order in which they appear on our site.

Got It

Lightning Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Lightning Stakes run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Lightning Stakes

Winners and Past Results of the Lightning Stakes (see Black Caviar Lightning).

Lightning Stakes: Throughout the autumn, punters around the Australian continent are treated to some of the best horse racing carnivals in Sydney and Melbourne where all the action takes place on the race tracks at Flemington, Caulfield, and Randwick among others.

One of the major races hosted by the Victoria Racing Club at the Flemington race track is the Group 1 Lightning Stakes. The 1000 meter sprint race held in mid-February is the first event that is part of the Global Sprint Challenge.

Run under weight for age conditions the open race offers a significant purse of $750,000.

As part of the Global Sprint Challenge that includes other stake races in England, Hong Kong, and Japan, the Lightning Stakes attracts the cream of sprinters.

The race is one of the major attractions of the much awaited and anticipated racing carnival in Melbourne. Flemington's 1000 metre straight to the finish line favours the stronger sprinters used to the Flemington track.

The Group 2 Australia Stakes held earlier at Moonee Valley Racecourse under the same conditions is usually a warm up race leading up to the Lightning Stakes for many horses although it hasn't produced too many doubles with Redelva being the last to win both in 1990.

Horses may enter the race after tackling the 1100 M Group 3 Rubiton Stakes and the 1400 M Carlyon Cup held at Caulfield Racecourse a week earlier. These races are a good form guide for punters.

Horses performing well in the Lightning Stakes may fancy contesting in the million dollar 1200 Metres Group 1 Newmarket Handicap at Flemington Racecourse in March. Champion mare Black Caviar won both the events in 2011. The Group 1 William Reid Stakes at Moonee Valley in March may be next on the cards for better performing sprinters while some may choose to compete in the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate at Caulfield on Blue Diamond Stakes day.

In recent years, many of the top sprinters to blaze the Australian race tracks have won the Lightning Stakes, which includes Miss Andretti, Apache Cat, and Scenic Blast between 2007-09.

The first Lightning Stakes was held in 1955 as a principal race and was then a Group 2 race between 1980 and 1986.

Since 1987 it has been one of prestigious Group 1 races.

Black Caviar went on to win every race she entered in the 2011 season which includes the Group 1 William Reid at Moonee Valley, TJ Smith Stakes at Randwick and BTC Cup at Doomben Racecourse and continued her glorious run after a spell to end the year with another three victories, which included the Group 1 Patinack Farm Classic at Flemington.

Year Lightning Stakes Winners
2021 Nature Strip
2020 Gytrash
2019 In Her Time
2018 Redkirk Warrior
2017 Terravista
2016 Chautauqua
2015 Lankan Rupee
2014 Snitzerland 
2013 Black Caviar
2012 Black Caviar
2011 Black Caviar
2010 Nicconi
2009 Scenic Blast
2008 Apache Cat
2007 Miss Andretti
2006 Takeover Target
2005 Fastnet Rock
2004 Regimental Gal
2003 Choisir
2002 Spinning Hill
2001 Sports
2000 Testa Rossa
1999 Isca
1998 General Nediym
1997 Mahogany
1996 Gold Ace
1995 Mahogany
1994 Keltrice
1993 Schillaci
1992 Schillaci
1991 Shaftesbury Avenue
1990 Redelva
1989 Zeditae
1988 Special
1987 Placid Ark
1986 Hula Chief
1985 River Rough
1984 River Rough
1983 Demus
1982 He's A Haze
1981 Countess Marizza
1980 Sportscast
1979 The Judge
1978 Maybe Mahal
1977 Maybe Mahal
1976 Desirable
1975 Cap D'Antibes
1974 Century
1973 Make Mine Roses
1972 Zambari
1971 Dual Choice
1970 Black Onyx
1969 Mister Hush
1968 Begonia Belle
1967 Storm Queen
1966 Citius
1965 Marmion
1964 Wenona Girl
1963 Wenona Girl
1962 Sky High
1961 Sky High
1960 Todman
1959 Ritmar
1958 Misting
1957 Copper Year
1956 Apple Bay
1955 Gay Vista

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Neds Logo
Same Race Multi Available on All Meetings on All 3 Codes
Join Now
Available from approx. 9:30am local track time on race day. Availability dependent on fiel ...More
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing. Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Bet365 Logo
Great Promotions. Use Referral Code: TOP10AU
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Palmerbet Logo
Great Value & Great Odds Every Day
Join Now
T&Cs. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers