Gilgai Stakes. Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Gilgai Stakes run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Gilgai Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Gilgai Stakes.

Hosted by Victoria Racing Club, the Gilgai Stakes is a Group 2 open race held under set weight plus penalty conditions at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

The Gilgai Stakes is held each year in early October with $200,000 up for grabs for the winner. The 1200 metre race favours stronger sprinters that have the strength to tackle the long home straight at the Flemington track. Winners of other sprint races on the same track are the ones to follow during the season. Some of the biggest crowds are in attendance on the day which also features the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes.

The Gilgai Stakes has been held since 1984 and was first known as the Sir Rupert Steele Stakes until 1999, after which it has been run under its present name. The best performers in the event have noticeably been the above average sprinters and milers with demanding jockeys who have the skill to urge their mounts down the straight Flemington track ans outsmart their competitors in the Gilgai Stakes.

The Group 2 Salinger Stakes which is held on the Derby Day and the Group 1 Patinack Farm Classic held on Emirates Day are run under similar conditions and are possibly the next target for top performers in the Gilgai Stakes. The 1200 M Bobbie Lewis Quality is a warm up race leading up to the Gilgai Stakes with Temple Of Boom running sixth in the Quality before winning the 2011 Gilgai Stakes. Several winners and placegetters have moved on to improve on their performances with Swick in 2008 and All Silent in 2009 scoring a Gilgai Stakes/Patniack Farm Classic double. Stanzout, title holder in 2007, ran an impressive race to finish third in the Patinack Farm Classic.

Some horses may fancy their chances in the Group 2 Caulfield Sprint on Caulfield Cup day. Runner up in 2009, First Command later won the Caulfield Sprint. Some of the outstanding sprinters to win the Gilgai Stakes include Bomber Bill in 2000 and 2003, Cosmic Strike in 2002, Falkirk in 2005, and Hay List in 2010. Temple of Boom ran sixth in the Bobbie Lewis Quality before winning the 2011 Gilgai Stakes and then went on to finish third in the Salinger Stakes.

In 2010, Hay List won the Group 3 Ian McEwen Stakes and the Group 1 Manikato Stakes at Moonee Valley prior to winning the Gilgai Stakes.

YearGilgai Stakes Winners
2018I Am Excited
2017Keen Array
2016The Quarterback
2012Hallowell Belle
2011Temple Of Boom
2010Hay List
2009All Silent
2008El Cambio
2006Fast 'N' Famous
2003Bomber Bill
2002Cosmic Strike
2001Belle Du Jour
2000Bomber Bill
1999Black Bean
1997Rock You
1996Poetic King
1995Racer's Edge
1991Vain Sovereign
1987Placid Ark
1986Campaign King
1985Rich Fields Lad
1984Royal Troubador

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers