Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Frances Tressady Stakes 2023 Tips, News, Winners and Past Results

Frances Tressady Stakes is a Group 3 race held at Flemington Racecourse over 1400 metres annually. Prize money for the event is worth $200,000

Winners and Past Results for the Frances Tressady Stakes

The Frances Tressady Stakes, hosted by the Victoria Racing Club, is a popular race for mares four year old and upwards, held annually at Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne.

2023 Frances Tressady Stakes Information

Date Of The Frances Tressady Stakes: 4/3/23

Time Of The Frances Tressady Stakes: TBA

Venue For The Frances Tressady Stakes: Rosehill Racecourse

How To Live Stream The Frances Tressady Stakes

To live stream the Frances Tressady Stakes, Sign Up To TAB and watch the race for free.

How To Bet On The Frances Tressady Stakes

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Frances Tressady Stakes: Ladbrokes

My 2022 Frances Tressady Stakes Betting Tips

1. TBA

2. TBA

3. TBA

More Details About The Frances Tressady Stakes

The total distance covered in the Frances Tressady Stakes is 1400 metres and is run during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival held annually in March.

The Group 3 race is held under set weight plus penalty conditions with the winner bagging prize money worth $200,000. Recently, it has been run as the ‘ Schweppervescence Trophy', the ‘National Jockey Celebration Day-Victoria Plate' and the ‘PFD Food Services Stakes' in 2011. The Frances Tressady Stakes is held alongside the Group 1 Australian Guineas. The 2011 edition was won by Aloha, followed by Flying Tessie and I'm Discreet in third place.

The Frances Tressady Stakes was run for the first time in 1975 and remained a Listed Race from 1975 to 1996. From 1997 onwards, it became a Group 3 race. The winner of the first Frances Tressady Stakes was a horse named Half A Moment and the name of the race that year was VRC Frances Tressady Stakes. The name of the race is important as this event has undergone a lot of changes in its name. The various names associated with this event since 2000 are: Devon Park Stakes, Chairman's Club Stakes, Drumstick Plate, Tooheys New Plate, Victoria Plate and PFD Food Services Stakes.

The Frances Tressady Stakes offers a profitable stud career for winning horse owners and is a good momentum for future races in the season. The Group 3 Mannerism Stakes which is held at Caulfield during February is a good guide and platform for the mare owners contesting in the Frances Tressady Stakes. After this event, the winners participate in the Group 3 Matron Stakes over a mile. The winners may also go forward to contest in the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Classic held at Rosehill Racecourse during the Sydney Autumn Carnival. The winners may also tackle the Group 3 Matron Stakes over a distance of 1600 metres and under the same set weight conditions that favours the above average galloper. Notable winners of the Frances Tressady Stakes include Aloha in 2011, Be Positive in 2010 and Typhoon Tracy in 2009.

Earlier notable gallopers to claim the cup include New Smyrna in 1996-97, Galapagos in 2003, Breezy in 2006, and Coniston Gem in 2008.

Frances Tressady Stakes Past Winners

YearFrances Tressady Stakes Winners
2020Sylvia's Mother
2019Oregon's Day
2017Turbo Miss
2015Madam Gangster
2014 Five All
2010Captain Coltish
2009Typhoon Tracy
2008Coniston Gem
2007Laura's Charm
2002Shelbourne Lass
2001Ticket To Rome
2000Northern Song
1998Blue Storm
1997New Smyrna
1996New Smyrna
1994Not Related
1992Acushla Marie
1990Thelma Josephine
1989Riva Gleam
1988Aussie Consul
1987Playful Princess
1985Sweet Gem
1984Kalimna Queen
1983Lemon Princess
1982Winter Flower
1981Parisian Romp
1980Palace Gossip
1977Brett's Honour
1975Half A Moment

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
Place a TOTE win bet on Races 1-6 at 3 Tracks, run 2nd or 3rd, get up to $50 back in Bonus Bets!
Join Now
*Excludes WA residents. First Tote win bet placed online. See promotions page for full T&C ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers