Edward Manifold Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Edward Manifold Stakes run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Edward Manifold Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Edward Manifold Stakes.

The Edward Manifold Stakes is one of Victoria Racing Club's prestigious races held at the Flemington Racecourse. This event is run at the start of the spring racing carnival in Melbourne.

The Edward Manifold Stakes is a Group 2 event for 3 year old horses under set weight conditions.

The race is run over a distance of 1600 meters with top quality milers gracing the track. The winner takes home a sizeable amount of $200,000 in addition to the title. The Edward Manifold Stakes takes place on the same day as the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes, and marks the beginning of quality group racing in the season for fillies. The race has proved to be an excellent form guide for elite classics later during the carnival.

The Stakes race is held at the spacious and wide Flemington race track and generally witnesses the best fillies putting up their best performances during the spring contest and on their way to the Group 1 Thousand Guineas at Caulfield Racecourse just ten days later. From the Thousand Guineas stage, the jockeys and their respective horses can take their victorious journey ahead to the Wakeful Stakes and ultimately to the Crown Oaks.

This race has witnessed some of the best three year old fillies in continue their winning spree in the Thousand Guineas, Wakeful Stakes and ultimately to Crown Oaks. Some of the examples are top class three-year-olds such as Alinghi, who won this race in 2004 and Special Harmony, who was victorious in 2003. Some of the winners who claim the Edward Manifold Stakes and Thousand Guineas are Gallica in 2008, Alinghi in 2004, Special Harmony in 2003, Inaflury in 1998, Azzurro in 1992, Richfield Lady in 1991 and Riverina Charm in 1988.

The race is held in honour of Victoria Racing Club's long term committee member, Edward Manifold.

Trainer Lee Freedman has saddled the most winners for this event which includes Special Harmony in 2003, Alinghi in 2004, and Serenade Rose in 2005. Interestingly in 2010, Sistine Chapel became the first mare to win the Edward Manifold in 15 years.

Since the first Edward Manifold Stakes in 1932, many notable milers have etched their name on the trophy, which includes Light Fingers in 1964, Storm Queen in 1966, Rubidium in 1995, Rose of Danehill in 1997, and many more. The event remained a principal race until 1979 when it was awarded Group 2 status.

Year Edward Manifold Stakes Winners
2020 Thermosphere
2019 Moonlight Maid
2018 Amphitrite
2017 Bring Me Roses
2016 Serenely Discreet
2015 Badawiya
2014 Fontein Ruby
2013 Se Saveur
2012 Maybe Discreet
2011 Mosheen
2010 Sistine Angel
2009 Majestic Music
2008 Gallica
2007 El Daana
2006 She Will Be Loved
2005 Serenade Rose
2004 Alinghi
2003 Special Harmony
2002 Coupe
2001 Ugachaka
2000 So Gorgeous
1999 My Sienna
1998 Inaflury
1997 Rose Of Danehill
1996 Ascorbic
1995 Rubidium
1994 Love Of Mary
1993 Brompton Cross
1992 Azzurro
1991 Richfield Lady
1990 Twiglet
1989 French Gypsy
1988 Riverina Charm
1987 Midnight Fever
1986 Society Bay
1985 Rebecca Gay
1984 Spirit Of Kingston
1983 Taj Eclipse
1982 Emancipation
1981 Darling Take Care
1980 Tynia
1979 Stage Hit
1978 Shannara
1977 Princess Talaria
1976 Snowmist
1975 Better Vain
1974 Rainburst
1973 Nandalie Lass
1972 Sabot
1971 Special Draw
1970 Dual Choice
1969 Gaelic Spirit
1968 Snowtop
1967 Chosen Lady
1966 Storm Queen
1965 Gipsy Queen
1964 Light Fingers
1963 Our Fun
1962 Arctic Star
1961 Indian Summer
1960 Lady Sybil
1959 Mintaway
1958 Wiggle
1957 Goldenway
1956 Bendrum
1955 Summersette
1954 Biff
1953 Roslyn
1952 Colinga
1951 Lady Havers
1950 Slick Chick
1949 Chicquita
1948 Siren Song
1947 Perm
1946 Joy Stream
1945 Norwich
1944 Delina
1943 Simmering
1942 Mermeran
1941 Primavera
1940 Tranquil Star
1939 Border Lass
1938 Lady Montague
1937 Ena
1936 Siren
1935 Bimilla
1934 Arachne
1933 Hap
1932 Dutchie

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers