Chatham Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Chatham Stakes run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Chatham Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Chatham Stakes.

The Chatham stakes is a Group 3 open race hosted by the Victoria Racing Club at the Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. Prize money for the event is worth $250,000.

The 1400 meter event is an open handicap race is dedicated to Chatham, an Australian Thoroughbred champion race horse, winner of two Cox Plates in the 1930s and an inductee in the Australian Racing Hall of Fame.

Held on Derby Day during the Flemington spring racing carnival, the race card for the day includes the Victoria Derby, Myer Classic, Coolmore Stud Stakes, and Mackinnon Stakes. A quarter of a million dollars goes to the winner with Woorim being the latest to wrap up the Chatham Stakes in style.

The race has had a number of different sponsors over the years. It was previously known as the VRC Royal Hong Kong JC Plate, VRC Yallambee Stud Stakes, VRC The Lexus Stakes, VRC AAMI Stakes, and in 2011 as the Chatham Stakes.

The Chatham Stakes is a competitive race for handy sprinters who haven't yet proved their mettle to move on to higher group races in spring. The race serves as a form guide for the Group 3 Sandown Stakes at the Sandown Racecourse and the Group 1 Emirates Stakes at Flemington a few weeks later.

Horses may enter the fray from the 1600 meter Group 1 Toorak Handicap at Caulfield Racecourse. Horses may travel to Perth to take part in the Group 1 Railway Stakes and Kingston Town Classic. Placed third in Chatham Stakes in 2009, Sniper's Bullet won the Railway Stakes/Kingston Town Classic double. 2011 winner of the Chatham Stakes, Woorim, was placed 6th in the Toorak Handicap. Earlier in the season, he won a 1200 meter handicap race at Moonee Valley after returning from a spell

A number of handy horses have proved their mettle in the Chatham Stakes. In 2008, All Silent scored a Chatham Stakes/Emirates Stakes double. The Emirates Stakes seems to be a classic follow up race with Valedictum winning it after placing third in the 2005 Chatham Stakes. Scenic Peak won the Chatham Stakes in 2001 and came back to take the cup in 2003, also winning the 2002 Emirates Stakes in the process.

Bezeal Bay won the Bill Ritchie Handicap, Chatham, and Emirates Stakes in 1998.

The first horse to win was Sarsha's Choice in 1978. It became a Group 3 race in 1986 won by Avannotto.

Year Chatham Stakes Winners
2020 Sansom
2019 Reykjavik
2018 Dreamforce
2017 Hellova Street
2016 Rageese
2015 Disposition
2014 Hucklebuck
2013 Smokin' Joey
2012 Fawkner
2011 Woorim
2010 Poor Judge
2009 Centennial Park
2008 All Silent
2007 Count To Zero
2006 Malcolm
2005 Rockford Bay
2004 Great Is Great
2003 Scenic Peak
2002 To Be Fair
2001 Scenic Peak
2000 Matter Of Honour
1999 Black Bean
1998 Bezeal Bay
1997 Confiscate
1996 Headstrong
1995 Final Tempo
1994 Social Rule
1993 Cocky Beau
1992 Let's Hurry
1991 Blue Boss
1990 Power Of Destiny
1989 Swiftsynd
1988 Bowie
1987 Targlish
1986 Avannotto
1985 Beaumont Babe
1984 La Caissiere
1983 Vivacite
1982 Pride Of Century
1981 Lloyd'S-Race
1980 Black Marque
1979 Blue And White
1978 Sarsha's Choice

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers