Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

PGR will always be free to use (yay!). However, we will receive a referral fee from the brands when you sign up to them through us and this may affect the order in which they appear on our site.

Got It

WJ Healy Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

WJ Healy Stakes run at the Eagle Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the WJ Healy Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the WJ Healy Stakes.

Hosted by Tattersalls Racing Club, the WJ Healy Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap race held over 1200 metres of Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane in June.

The quality sprint race attracts prize money worth $175,000 for the winning connections, which is often taken home by a more than handy local sprinter who may be around at that time of the season.

The WJ Healy Stakes is held on the same day as the Group 1 Tattersall's Tiara (Winter Stakes) and Group 3 Tattersall's Cup, which is the final day of the Eagle Farm winter racing carnival.

The 1350m Group 3 BRC Sprint at Doomben Racecourse held earlier in May is one of the likely warm up events while some horses may come via the Group 2 QTC Cup held a fortnight earlier at Eagle Farm over an extended distance of 1300m.

One of the classy sprinters to win the WJ Healy Stakes convincingly in recent times was Hay List in 2010 who won by a margin of 5 lengths from Pinwheel. Other notable runners include Sublimate in 1994 while Quality Kingdom won 1998 and Super Elegant in 2003. Runner up in 2005, Takeover Target is also among the classy gallopers to pass through the WJ Healy Stakes. The race hasn't been a handy form guide for follow up races in recent times where some horses may even head for a spell.

The WJ Healy Stakes was first won by Painted Red in 1979. It remained a listed race until it was promoted to Group 3 in 1997 with Blazing Reality recorded as the first Group winner. It was also held as the Tatt's QLD Mercedes Benz Stakes and the Tatt's QLD Carlton Draught Stakes. However, it is known as the WJ Healy Stakes since 2006.

YearWJ Healy Stakes Winners
2021Away Game
2020Race Not Held
2019Brave Song
2017Burning Passion
2016Into The Red
2014Big Money
2012River Lad
2010Hay List
2009News Alert
2008Nuclear Medicine
2007The Jackal
2006Natural Destny
2005Poetic Papal
2003Super Elegant
2002Jar Jar Binks
2000El Mirada
1998Quality Kingdom
1997Blazing Reality
1995Dancing Dynamite
1992Blalocks Bull
1991Tiny's Finito
1990Mcginty's Crown
1989Clay Hero
1988Lots Of Rule
1987My Arctic Wolf
1986Between Ourselves
1985Kelly's Pool
1983Toy Pindarri
1982Ideal Planet
1981Grey Sapphire
1980Hit It Benny
1979Painted Red

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Neds Logo
Same Race Multi Available on All Meetings on All 3 Codes
Join Now
Available from approx. 9:30am local track time on race day. Availability dependent on fiel ...More
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing. Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Bet365 Logo
Great Promotions. Use Referral Code: TOP10AU
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Palmerbet Logo
Great Value & Great Odds Every Day
Join Now
T&Cs. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers