Launceston Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Launceston Cup run at the Launceston Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Launceston Cup

Winners and Past Results for the Launceston Cup.

The Launceston Cup is one out of three black type races held in Tasmania. The Group 3 event is an open handicap race run over a distance of 2400 meters, with set weight and penalty conditions for horses aged 2 years and above.

$200,000 awaits the winners in the race held during the summer racing carnival in Launceston, which is one of the highlights of Launceston's social calendar.

It is run every year on a Wednesday afternoon towards the end of February at the Launceston Race Track and is hosted by the Tasmanian Turf Club.

The Launceston Cup suits handy staying types and attracts a predominantly local field with only a few horses coming in from the mainland. The logical lead up to this race is the Hobart Cup, and as such consists of handy Tasmanian staying types. The 2011 Launceston Cup was won by Fast Future, followed by White Yard, and Geegees Blackflash finishing third.

The Launceston Cup was first run in 1865 as a principal race which was won by Panic. It was awarded Group 3 status in 1980, with Summer recorded as the winner of the first Group 3 event.

The race was run originally over a distance of 2600 meters, but was shortened in 2002 to 2400 meters. The other two Group three events are the Tasmanian Derby and the Hobart Cup, where horses travel over 2200 metres in both events that are held in February, before the Launceston Cup. Many of the leading stayers make their way to the Launceston Cup after an outing in these events. The Hobart Cup is of particular interest as it runs under the same handicap conditions. The Tasmanian Derby is a Group 3 race for Fillies and Mares, run over 1200 metres a week before the Hobart Cup.

Finishing unplaced in the Hobart Cup, Fast Future in 2011, won this race, while Bid Spotter finished unplaced, after winning the Hobart Cup. Horse such as Zacielo in 2004, and St. Andrews in 2002, have both won the Hobart Cup and the Launceston Cup. While Ista Kareem in 2008, won this event after placing third in the Hobart Cup.

The Launceston track is located 3 kms from the centre of Mowbray. The oval shaped track has a short 230 meter straight in its 1830 meter course length, with horses travelling in an an anti-clockwise direction.

Year Launceston Cup Winners
2021 Glass Warrior
2020 Home By Midnight
2019 Eastender
2018 Bondeiger
2017 Big Duke
2016 Up Cups
2015 Genuine Lad
2014 Epingle
2013 Geegees Blackflash
2012 Prevailing
2011 Fast Future
2010 Larrys Never Late
2009 Zavite
2008 Ista Kareem
2007 Hofmeister
2006 Precise Timing
2005 Dakasha
2004 Zacielo
2003 St. Andrews
2002 St. Andrews
2001 Full Of Rhythm
2000 St. Andrews
1999 Streak
1998 King's Landing
1997 Ticking Away
1996 Free Beer
1995 Free Beer
1994 Rich Dreams
1993 Diamond Bases
1992 Star Cheers
1991 Bitter Spring
1990 Down The Pitch
1989 Shykoski
1988 Superior Way
1987 Brave Trespasser
1986 Epigram
1985 Scruples
1984 Martian's Son
1983 Nifty Red
1982 Andrias
1981 Anzaas
1980 Summer
1979 Jessephenie
1978 Recollect
1977 Brallos
1976 Brallos
1975 King Boongarie
1974 Trader
1973 Woodfield
1972 Shipwright
1971 Neamoc
1970 Red Tornado
1969 Rainbow Isle
1968 Limit
1967 San Sebastian
1966 Nicotera
1965 Marco's Folly
1964 Mayno
1963 Juraco
1962 Native Land
1961 Sweet Maine
1960 Overproof
1959 Wing Shades
1958 Tavua
1957 Lord Carrick
1956 Dongarra
1955 Vamos
1954 Vamos
1953 Lord Burleigh
1952 English
1951 Dick Turpin
1950 Tarcombe
1949 The Artist
1948 Manakau
1947 Miss Dart
1946 Gamelin
1945 Hero
1944 Son O'Val
1943 Entitle
1942 Jane Moorhead
1941 Old Days
1940 Beau Roi
1939 Keeping Watch
1938 Radiant Boy
1937 Royal Barb
1936 Coolart
1935 Gabbler
1934 Baanya
1933 Motive
1932 Finsbury
1931 Darpuna
1930 Tarapunga
1929 Laird O'Cockpen
1928 Lycurgides
1927 Head Girl
1926 Spreadeagle
1925 Seignorina
1924 Amazonia
1923 Seignorina
1922 Royal Reserve
1921 Sand Dune
1920 Trusty Blade
1919 Ordella
1918 Ordella
1917 Bucklaw
1916 Rock Temple
1915 Hayston
1914 Hugli
1913 Uncle Matt
1912 Desire
1911 Loyal Blue
1910 Iliad
1909 Golden Gate
1908 Regret
1907 Wathful
1906 Watchful
1905 Hatteras
1904 Southern Cross
1903 Chesterfield
1902 Cordon
The Sirdar
1901 Royalty
1900 Eiridsdale
1899 Flintlock
1898 Sortie
1897 Mountaineer
1896 Caller Ou
1895 Golden King
1894 Amadeus
1893 Comedian
1892 Retreat
1891 Dundas
1890 Macquarie
1889 Chaldean
1888 Ruby
1887 The Knave
1886 Duration
1885 Hobart
1884 Sheet Anchor
1883 Rhesus
1882 Stockwell
1881 not held
1880 Swiveller
1879 Swiveller
1878 Aldinga
1877 Spark
1876 Strop
1875 Ella
1874 Strop
1873 Leo
1872 Misty Morn
1871 Romula
1870 not held
1869 Strop
1868 Fireworks
1867 Fishhook
1866 Strop
1865 Panic

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers