RN Irwin Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

RN Irwin Stakes run at Morphettville Racecourse. All the past winners of the RN Irwin Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the RN Irwin Stakes.

The first among Group 3 races hosted by the South Australian Jockey Club during the autumn racing carnival in April is the RN Irwin Stakes.

The weight for age sprint race is held at Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide over a distance of 1100 metres.

The event is worth $120,000 for the winner and takes place alongside the two Group 3 Auraria Stakes over 1800 metres and the Sires Produce Stakes over 1400 metres.

 Level weights offer an opportunity for some of the better sprinters to take home the trophy. Over the years a number of quality sprinters have won the RN Irwin Stakes who may also move on to compete in the Group 3 DC Mckay Stakes and the Group 1 Goodwood also at Morphettville in May. Third placed in 2009, Blahnik also finished third in the Mackay Stakes, also known as the Evright.com Stakes. Some horses may fancy an outing in the Group 1 Sportingbet Classic over 1200 metres on the same track.

The Group 1 Oakleigh Plate, run over 1100 metres at Caulfield Racecourse is often a handy form guide leading up to the RN Irwin Stakes. The 1200 M Group 2 Australia Stakes held earlier at the end of January at Moonee Valley Racecourse may also have a few entrants for the RN Irwin Stakes although it isn't a handy form guide. The1100 M Group 3 Rubiton Stakes held earlier at Caulfield may also be the route for some horses prior to the RN Irwin Stakes. Avenue was runner up in the Rubiton Stakes and the Oakleigh Plate prior to lifting the 2011 RN Irwin Stakes.

Among the top sprinters to make a mark on the RN Irwin Stakes are Redelva in 1988, Street Ruffian in 1992, Bomber Bill in 2003, and Super Elegant in 2005. Never Rest was the first horse to win the RN Irwin Stakes as a principal race in 1955. The race was promoted to Group 2 by the South Australian Jockey Club in 1980. It has been run under several distances between 1100 and 1450 metres. However, horses have been made to travel a distance of 1100 metres since 2003. Scorn Bold is the only horse to win on two consecutive occasions in 1996 and 1997.

Year RN Irwin Stakes Winner
2020 Gytrash
2019 Hard Empire
2018 Dainty Tess
2018 Dainty Tess
2017 Viddora
2016 Nostradamus
 2015  Daytona Grey 
2014 Driefontein
2013 Kulgrinda
2012 We're Gonna Rock
2011 Avenue
2010 Augusta Proud
2009 Diplomatic force
2008 Here De Angels
2007 Flying Object
2006 Leone Chiara
2005 Super Elegant
2004 Stand By Me
2003 Bomber Bill
2002 Regal Kiss
2001 Stand By Me
2000 Suit
1999 Sports
1998 La Baraka
1997 Scorn Bold
1996 Scorn Bold
1995 Hero Wind
1994 Kenvain
1993 Hot Arch
1992 Street Ruffian
1991 Beau George
1990 Leica Western
1989 Jet Fighter
1988 Redelva
1987 Lord Galaxy
1986 Rory's Jester
1985 Red Tempo
1984 Copper Rocket
1983 Montrose Lass
1982 Galleon
1981 Ducatoon
1980 Domax
1979 Stormy Rex
1978 Lipman
1977 Silent Gift
1976 High Value
1975 Red Loam
1974 Toltrice
1973 Idolou
1972 Eastern Court
1971 Sanderae
1970 Fileur
1969 Steel Helmet
1968 Fileur
1967 Sunny Coronation
1966 Contempler
1965 Millionairess
1964 Naelyn
1963 Benibasha
1962 Kelvin Valley
1961 Rain King
1960 Bomba
1959 Power Duke
1958 Sleep Tight
1957 In Transit
1956 Columbo King
1955 Never Rest
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers