Robert A Lee Stakes. Winners & Past Results For The Robert A Lee Stakes

RA Lee Stakes run at Morphettville Racecourse. All the past winners of the RA Lee Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Robert A Lee Stakes.

The South Australian Jockey Club hosts a number of races at Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide during the autumn racing carnival in May, which includes the Robert A. Lee Stakes.

The Group 3 event is run under set weight plus penalty conditions over a distance of 1600 metres.

Strong milers and in-form gallopers compete for prize money worth $150,000 at the Morphettville track on the same day as the 1200 M Group 1 Goodwood, 2500 M South Australian Derby, and Group 3 SA Oaks and The Jansz. The RA Lee Stakes usually fields average horses seeking to prove their ability to conquer the mile on the long Morphettville straight, which is why it may often attract a number of in-form Melbourne gallopers looking to further their tally during the autumn racing carnival.

The Group 3 Victoria Handicap run over 1400 metres at the Caulfield track is often a route that horses take to the Robert A. Lee Stakes. Budriguez was runner up in the event before winning the 2011 RA Lee Stakes while third placed Red Colossus scored a convincing win in the Victory Handicap. The Group 2 Queen of the South Stakes held at the same track in April may serve as a warm up to the event. Majestic Music finished fifth in the event prior to finishing runner up in the 2011 RA Lee Stakes. Horses may head for a spell prior to tackling other group races during the spring racing carnival such as the Group 2 Let's Elope Stakes, Memsie Stakes, and Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and Toorak Handicap, to name a few.

The inaugural RA Lee Stakes was held as a listed race in 1979 and was elevated to Group 3 in 2006. Among the top milers to score back to back victories are Blast The Glass in 1988-89, More Action in 1999-2000, and Sylvaner in 2002-03. It was held as the SAJC Gerard Corporation Stakes between 2008 and 2010 and as the Pope Packaging Stakes between 2001 and 2005. As the race is held on one of the biggest days of the Adelaide autumn racing carnival, punters have an opportunity to spread their wagers and pick an in-form miler for the Robert A. Lee Stakes with a close eye on the winner and placegetters in the Group 3 Victoria Handicap at Caulfield, which has proved to be a handy form guide in recent times.

Year RA Lee Stakes Winners
2020 Chapel City
2019 Fastnet Tempest
2018 Land Of Plenty
2017 Burning Front
2016 Tonopah
2015 The Bowler
2014 Rhythm To Spare
2013 Linton
2012 Linton
2011 Budriguez
2010 Majestic Music
2009 Serious Speed
2008 Autumn Jeuney
2007 Brockman's Lass
2006 Life's A Bounty
2005 Sassbee
2004 Fly For Me
2003 Sylvaner
2002 Sylvaner
2001 Typhoon Barney
2000 More Action
1999 More Action
1998 Ben's Rocket
1997 Bacy's Brother
1996 Jadeva Belle
1995 Ruling Knight
1994 Master Tambo
1993 Leggings
1992 Pay The Kings
1991 Pacific
1990 Neja
1989 Blast The Glass
1988 Blast The Glass
1987 Regal For Me
1986 Knight Of Avon
1985 Mrs. Fitzherbet
1984 Royal Balladeer
1983 Writ 'N' Wonder
1982 Find The Gold
1981 Welkin Light
1980 Flanders Fields
1979 Lavadina