Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

PGR will always be free to use (yay!). However, we will receive a referral fee from the brands when you sign up to them through us and this may affect the order in which they appear on our site.

Got It

DC McKay Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

DC McKay Stakes run at Morphettville Racecourse. All the past winners of the DC McKay Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the DC McKay Stakes.

The D.C. McKay Stakes is a South Australian Jockey Club Group 3 Australian horse race for horses aged three years old and over.

The 1100-meter DC McKay Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap race hosted by the South Australian Jockey Club at the Morphettville Racetrack in April.

Sprinters compete for $120,000 in prize money and a better chance of gaining entry to the $350,000 Group 1 Goodwood over 1200 meters at the same track in May.

The DC McKay Stakes attracts horses who may have competed in similar Group 3 races like the RN Irwin Stakes held earlier at Morphettville and move on to other premier sprint races during the autumn carnival. The recent successful sprinter to come into the DC McKay Stakes with seven wins from only 11 starts is Streetcar Magic. The bay gelding with Justin Potter in the saddle formed a formidable partnership, coming into the DC McKay Stakes after a win in the 1000 meter IC Frith Handicap at the same track in March.

The race is held a weekend after the SA Oaks. Other major Group 2 and Group 3 races held on the same day is the $150,000 Queen of the South Stakes for fillies and mares, a prestigious mile race of the carnival.

Notable sprinters to win the DC McKay Stakes include Catapulted in 2010 who earlier won the Group 3 Rubiton Stakes over 1100 meters at Caulfield Racecourse. He also finished second in the 1200 meters Durbridge Stakes at the same track and won the Group 2 QTC Cup over 1300 meters at Eagle Farm.

Other consistent gallopers to win include Scornsome in 1992, Harkaway in 1994, Toledo in 1998, Loafer in 1999, Bomber Bill in 2005, and I Am Invincible in 2009.

The inaugural race in 1968 was won by a horse named King Stephen. The DC McKay Stakes remained a principal race until 1980, after which it has remained a Group 3 race.

The DC McKay Stakes offers a host of talented South Australian sprinters making it difficult to choose a clear winner. In form sprinters making it to the starting gate on a good weight are generally favoured. Comadia Boy picked up DC McKay titles in 1978-79 while the most exciting finish was in 2002. The race was declared a dead heat between Libidinious and Windigo. Although the McKay Stakes is considered the traditional lead up to the Group 1 Goodwood Handicap, the last horse to score a double was Boardwalk Angel in 1989.

YearDC McKay Stakes Winners
2018Sprightly Lass
2016Super One
2015 Thermal Current  
2014Essay Raider
2013General Truce
2012Outlandish Lad
2011Streetcar Magic
2009I Am Invincible
2007Here De Angels
2005Bomber Bill
2003Super Elegant


2000Perak Gold
1996Dr. Zackary
1995Latin Villa
1990Medicine Kid
1989Boardwalk Angel
1988Beau George
1986Lord Galaxy
1985Gold Kildare
1984Fire Stick
1983Penny Edition
1982Peta Gay
1981With Pleasure
1979Comaida Boy
1978Comaida Boy
1975Miss Lockleys
1974King's Helmet
1973Wise Virgin
1972Eastern Court
1971King Stephen
1969Grey John
1968King Stephen

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Neds Logo
Same Race Multi Available on All Meetings on All 3 Codes
Join Now
Available from approx. 9:30am local track time on race day. Availability dependent on fiel ...More
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing. Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Bet365 Logo
Great Promotions. Use Referral Code: TOP10AU
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Palmerbet Logo
Great Value & Great Odds Every Day
Join Now
T&Cs. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers