Australasian Oaks Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Australasian Oaks run at Morphettville Racecourse. All the past winners of the Australasian Oaks

Winners and Past Results for the Australasian Oaks.

The Australasian Oaks is one of the most hotly contested Group 1 races for fillies held at the Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide.

The race is run under set weight conditions over a distance of 2000 meters.

Each year quality gallopers compete for prize money worth $500,000 in a race that brings out the best middle distance stayers during the autumn racing carnival.

The Australasian Oaks is hosted by the South Australian Jockey Club and held on the same day as the Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes and the Group 3 The Jansz.

The cream of fillies are given a chance to prove their mettle under set weight conditions. The Australasian Oaks is the perfect lead up to the Group 1 SA Derby and Group 3 SA Oaks that attracts a local field as well. Among the notable winners to move on and win the Group 1 SA Derby later during the carnival is Zarita, the 2008 Australasian Oaks champion. She beat the best of colts and geldings at the SA derby and was the last filly good enough to score an Australasian Oaks/SA Derby double. The race attracts runners who have tasted success during the Melbourne or Sydney autumn racing carnival.

The first Australasian Oaks was held in 1982 as a Group 3 race. It was won by Rose of Kingston who went on to become the Australian Horse of the Year and finished her racing career with ten wins including three Group 1 races that included the Australian Derby. She was also the Australasian Champion Three-Year-Old Filly and Australasian Champion Older Mare in 1982 and later was a successful broodmare.

Other notable winners include Miss Clipper in 1986, Mannerism in 1991, La Volta in 1998, Tully Thunder in 2002, Anamato in 2007, and Gallica in 2009, and Small Minds in 2010.

The Oaks was upgraded to Group 1 in its second year in 1983.

The Group 2 Moonee Valley Oaks held at Moonee Valley Racecourse is the perfect form guide for punters, which attracts many runners for the Australasian Oaks. The 2011 champion, Lights of Heaven won the Moonee Valley Oaks prior to producing an outstanding run in the Oaks, finishing well clear of Absolutely and Southern Speed.

The Australasian Oaks remains one of the popular betting doubles along with the SA Oaks, with great returns awaiting punters that pick the winning fillies. The winners ought to be watched closely since it is known to produce many Caulfield Cup winners in the past.

Year Australasian Oaks Winners
2020 Toffee Tongue
2019 Princess Jenni
2018 Sopressa
2017 Princess Jenni
2016 Egg Tart
2015 Delicacy 
2014 May's Dream
2013 Maybe Discreet
2012 Invest
2011 Lights Of Heaven
2010 Small Minds
2009 Gallica
2008 Zarita
2007 Anamato
2006 Marju Snip
2005 Irish Darling
2004 Rinky Dink
2003 Sound Action
2002 Tully Thunder
2001 Tempest Morn
2000 Grand Echezeaux
1999 Episode
1998 La Volta
1997 Minegold
1996 Leica Smile
1995 Yelgun Dawn
1994 Tristalove
1993 Our Tristalight
1992 Gatherneaux
1991 Mannerism
1990 Belle Chanson
1989 Stapleton Lass
1988 Imposera
1987 Send Me An Angel
1986 Miss Clipper
1985 Centaurea
1984 Use The Space
1983 Royal Regatta
1982 Rose Of Kingston
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers