Auraria Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Auraria Stakes run at Morphettville Racecourse. All the past winners of the Auraria Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Auraria Stakes.

The South Australian Jockey Club hosts the Group 3 Auraria Stakes at the Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide every year.

It is held in honour of the 1895 Melbourne Cup winner, Auraria.

Run over a distance of 1800 meters, the race carries prize money worth $120,000 for the winner.

The Auraria Stakes is for three year old fillies run under set weight and penalties condition which also features other major events such as the Group 3 RN Irwin Stakes and the Sires Produce Stakes. 

The Auraria Stakes has some of the local average and above average fillies storm the tracks which include the 2011 winner, Shylight, La Volta in 1998, Yvonne in 2003, Dane Beltar in 2004, and Devil Moon in 2007.

Since its inception in 1944 many middle distance gallopers have lifted the trophy beginning with Chariot who won the inaugural race. It was a principal race until 1980 when it achieved Group 3 status. The 2011 Auraria Stakes was run as the Schweppervescence Stakes in which Glenn Boss steered the David Brideoake-trained Shylight to victory by a nose from Southern Speed.

Many classy fillies move on to test their abilities in the Group 2 Queen Of The South Stakes and Group 1 Australasian Oaks over a distance of 2000 meters. Many of them go on to become handy mares and boost sales at the June’s Magic Millions National Broodmare Sale at the Gold Coast.

The Auraria Stakes is the perfect lead up to the Queensland Oaks later in the season. Some may enter the race after a good showing in the Bint Marscay Handicap at Sandown.

The 2008 Auraria Stakes winner, Moment in Time, was among the most versatile fillies to win races over a variety of distances including 1400m, 1600m, 1800m, 2600m, and 2800m.

The Auraria Stakes is the first of three South Australian races for fillies over the autumn carnival, followed by the Group 1 Australasian Oaks and the South Australian Oaks which is now called the SA Fillies Classic run over a distance of 2400 meters. The last horse to claim the Auraria/Australasian Oaks double was Grand Echezeaux, trained by Lee Freedman, in 2000.

Year Auraria Stakes Winners
2020 Silent Sovereign
2019 Mirette
2018 Sopressa
2017 Kenedna
2016 Silent Sedition
2015 Fitocracy
2014 Girl In Flight
2013 Global Balance
2012 Crucial
2011 Shylight
2010 Fairy Oak
2009 Princess Pulse
2008 Moment In Time
2007 Devil Moon
2006 Purde
2005 Overclock
2004 Dane Belltar
2003 Yvonne
2002 Clothilde
2001 Shelbourne Lass
2000 Grand Echezeaux
1999 Episode
1998 La Volta
1997 Exalted Miss
1996 Miss Margaret
1995 Tranquility
1994 Ascona
1993 Prime Again
1992 Gatherneaux
1991 Shavano Miss
1990 Alleged Lady
1989 Our Libra Lady
1988 Faithful Thought
1987 Flaming Wonder
1986 Miss Clipper
1985 Katikate
1984 Maintenon
1982 Irish Heiress
1981 Sheraco
1980 Kaupo
1979 Hot Silk
1978 Laurente
1977 Pushy
1976 Marist Lady
1975 Yaraandoo
1974 Soma
1973 Hi Maralie
1972 Tresi
1971 Quseir
1970 Rain Amore
1969 Goliette
1968 Anthony's Daughter
1967 Kasota
1966 Lady Twilight
1965 Te Parae
1964 Nickel Shot
1963 Raindear
1962 Kirksite
1961 Shady Lass
1960 Serene Princess
1959 Mintaway
1958 Demeter
1957 Cherete
1956 Sleep Tight
1955 Wine Lover
1954 Everest Victory
1953 Nokomis
1952 Naetor
1951 Gay Comedy
1950 Carry Abbie
1949 Classee
1948 Could Be
1947 Gallery Girl
1946 Look
1945 Maraken
1944 Chariot
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers