Winterbottom Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Winterbottom Stakes run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Winterbottom Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Winterbottom Stakes.

Perth Racing hosts a number of Group races during the summer racing carnival at Ascot Racecourse which includes the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes.

Horses three years old and above are eligible for the weight for age race that is contested over 1200 metres of the Ascot track. The event is held towards the end of November with a tidy purse worth $1,000,000 at stake.

The Winterbottom Stakes is now held alongside the Group 1 Railway Stakes on Super Saturday of the racing carnival and is usually a final warm up to the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic held two weeks later. The race usually attracts the above average local sprinters who may have had a successful run on the east coast during the spring carnival as well.

The Winterbottom Stakes has the distinction of hosting one of greatest contests ever between Takeover Target and Apache Cat in 2008. A number of classy sprinters have added the trophy to their resume while the race has also many place getters going on to become stars of the turf. Among the likely warm up events are the 1100 M Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes and the 1400 M Group 3 Lee Steere Stakes also held at Ascot earlier in November. Horses may come in from the 1200 M Group 2 Salinger Stakes held earlier at Flemington Racecourse. Rarefied was runner up in both events. Horses may fancy their chances in the Group 3 AJ Scahill Stakes over 1400 metres under similar condition as their next run.

Raconteur won the inaugural Winterbottom Stakes in 1952. It was a principal race until 1979 when Asian Beau became the first to be recorded in the history books as Group 2 winner. The first Group 1 event was held in 2011. The race was reduced to 1200 metres from its original 1400 metres in 1993. La Trice and Belinda's Star scored back to back victories in earlier times while Hardrada achieved the feat in 2002-03.

Other outstanding gallopers to win include Miss Andretti in 2005, Marasco in 2006, Takeover Target in 2008 while Zedavite, Apache Cat, and Grand Nirvana are among the notable place getters.

Year Winterbottom Stakes Winners
2020 Elite Street
2019 Hey Doc
2018 Voodoo Lad
2017 Viddora
2016 Takedown
2015 Buffering
2014 Magnifisio
2013 Buffering
2012 Barakey
2011 Hadabeclorka
2010 Hadabeclorka
2009 Ortensia
2008 Takeover Target
2007 Glory Hunter
2006 Marasco
2005 Miss Andretti
2004 Ellicorsam
2003 Hardrada
2002 Hardrada
2001 Fair Alert
2000 Noble Sky
1999 Double Blue
1998 Bradson
1997 Cranky Tikit
1996 French Sound
1995 Jacks Or Better
1994 Petite Amour
1993 Sir Tinka
1992 Barrosa Boy
1991 M'Lady's Jewel
1990 Century God
1989 Carry A Smile
1988 Sky Filou
1987 Placid Ark
1986 Fimiston
1985 Jungle Mist
1984 Casshoney
1983 Hanging In
1982 Nitro Lad
1981 Soldier Of Fortune
1980 Scarlet Gem
1979 Asian Beau
1978 Marjoleo
1977 Romantic Dream
1976 Belinda's Star
1975 Belinda's Star
1974 My Friend Paul
1973 Starglow
1972 Acello
1971 La Trice
1970 La Trice
1969 Sherolythe
1968 Torecan
1967 Railway Boy
1966 Aquitania
1965 Watersan
1964 Copper Son
1963 Big Bob
1962 Nicopolis
1961 Coco
1960 On Guard
1959 Young Filipino
1958 Bebe Grande
1957 Fairflow
1956 Mcharry
1955 Asteroid
1954 Chestnut Lady
1953 Asteroid
1952 Raconteur

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers