WA Guineas Winners, Past Results & Latest News

WA Guineas run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Western Australian Guineas

Winners and Past Results for the Western Australia Guineas.

The WA Guineas is a mile race hosted by Perth Racing during the Perth summer racing carnival in November on Super Saturday.

The Group 2 event is for three year old horses that come under the starter's orders under set weight conditions at Ascot Racecourse in Perth. The WA Guineas is worth $500,000 in prize money that is more often than not taken by an above average local talent. The Group 1 $1 million Railway Stakes and $500,000 Winterbottom Stakes are also on the day's race card.

Horses may come via a number of listed and group races held around the time. The Group 3 Champion Fillies Stakes over the same distance at Ascot is one of the likely warm up events.

The WA Guineas is first up in Group racing for three year olds during the carnival with many are in peak form towards the end of the year. The Group 2 Lee Steere Classic over 1400 metres is one of the likely follow up races while better performing horses may consider the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic with a step up to 1800 metres as their next target early in December.

The first WA Guineas was held as a principal race in 1937 with Footmark recorded as the first winner. It was promoted to Group 3 in 1979 and received another boost in status to Group 2 in 1981. Some of the notable winners include So Dashing in 1990 who also clocked the fastest time of 1 minute and 35 seconds. Tip The Pro put up a stellar performance in 1994 while Royal Retrieve was victorious in 2001. Playing God in 2010 went on to win multiple Group races on the east coast as well.

Year WA Guineas Winners
2020 Watch Me Dance
2019 War Saint
2018 Arcadia Queen
2017 Perfect Jewel
2016 Variation
2015 Man Booker
2014 Rommel
2013 Ihtsahymn
2012 Academus
2011 King Saul
2010 Playing God
2009 Clueless Angel
2008 Moccasin Bend
2007 Megatic
2006 Vain Crusader
2005 Cape North
2004 Dr John
2003 River Mist
2002 The Right Money
2001 Royal Retrieve
2000 Kalatiara
1999 Devilish Dealer
1998 Old Nick
1997 Chelsea
1996 Summer Beau
1995 Bradson
1994 Tip The Pro
1993 El Cordero
1992 Classy Dresser
1991 Vows
1990 So Dashing
1989 Kaysart
1988 My Bobby Boo
1987 Tabharry
1986 Best Time
1985 Ever Ready
1984 Importune
1983 Storm Tide
1982 Rare Flyer
1981 Admiral Star
1980 Fortune Favours
1979 Star God
1978 Rare Sovereign
1977 Caduceus
1976 Blue Nucleus
1975 Ngawyni
1974 Gipsy Prince
1973 High Value
1972 Millefleurs
1971 Indian Shell
1970 Heliolight
1969 Kilrickle
1968 Beau Shar
1967 Super Sam
1966 Jolly Aster
1965 Baccare
1964 Rock Drill
1963 Norval Boy
1962 Nicopolis
1961 Water Power
1960 Chestillion
1959 Queen Of The May
1958 High Channel
1957 Emporium
1956 Fairflow
1955 Mallan
1954 Queen's Favourite
1953 Choya
1952 Raconteur
1951 Chestnut Lady
1950 Jovial Lad
1949 Prediction
1948 Jennie
1947 Westralian
1946 Chieftain Warrior
1945 Cherbourg
1944 Lord Treat
1943 Kingsley
1942 not held
1941 not held
1940 Romanette
1939 True Flight
1938 Gay Prince
1937 Footmark

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers