The Railway Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Railway Stakes run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Railway Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Railway Stakes.

One of the strongest and richest mile races hosted by Perth Racing for horses three years old and over is the Group 1 Railway Stakes.

The event is run under handicap conditions at Ascot Racecourse in Perth, with a million dollars at stake.

The Railway Stakes is held towards the end of November on Super Saturday along with the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes during the Festival of Perth. Horses that have had a good spring season in Melbourne and Sydney are also attracted to the million dollar race across on the west coast even though Perth 's hotter climate usually favours local contenders in form and with a good track record.

Horses are likely to tackle the Group 3 Asian Beau Stakes prior to the Railway Stakes. The Group 3 RJ Peters Stakes is also a key warm up race that punters ought to use as a form guide. The most recent to win the Asian Beau/Railway Stakes double is Luckygray in 2011. Some horses may enter the field after a run in the Group 1 Emirates Stakes at Flemington or the Group 2 Crystal Mile held at Moonee Valley Racecourse in October. Runner up in 2011, He's Remarkable, finished third in the Crystal Mile prior to winning a handicap and the Railway Stakes. Sydney raider, Gathering, was unplaced in the Crystal Mile before winning the 2010 edition of the Railway Stakes. Top performers in the Railway Stakes may consider contesting in the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic over an extended distance of 1800 metres a fortnight later. Most recently, Snipers Bullet achieved success in both events in 2009.

Some of the strongest milers have passed through the Railway Stakes on their way to greater success since its inception in 1887, which includes Better Loosen Up in 1990 and Northerly in 2000. It remained a principal race until 1979 when it was elevated to Group 1 with Asian Beau winning the first black type edition of the race. Horses have travelled a variety of distances over the years. However, it has remained a 1600 metre race since 1984.

One of the interesting points for punters to note is that top weights haven't had a good record in the Railway Stakes. Sniper's Bullet with 56.5 kg has carried the most weight as a winner. The race seems to favour four year olds with Luckygray being the 6th in the past decade to win in 2011.

Year Railway Stakes Winners
2020 Inspirational Girl
2019 Regal Power
2018 Galaxy Star
2017 Great Shot
2016 Scales Of Justice
2015 Good Project
2014 Elite Belle
2013 Luckygray
2012 Mr Moet
2011 Luckygray
2010 Gathering
2009 Sniper's Bullet
2008 Gilded Venom
2007 El Presedente
2006 Belle Bizare
2005 Covertly
2004 Modem
2003 Hardrada
2002 Old Fashion
2001 Old Comrade
2000 Northerly
1999 Slavonic
1998 Machine Gun Tom
1997 Willoughby
1996 Bold Extreme
1995 Jacks Or Better
1994 Zaparri
1994 Island Morn
1992 Welcome Knight
1991 M'Lady's Jewel
1990 Medicine Kid
1989 Better Loosen Up
1988 Marwong
1987 Jungle Dawn
1987 Miss Muffet
1985 Valley Of Carome
1984 Eastern Temple
1983 Getting Closer
1983 Sanatate
1981 Iko
1980 Golden Heights
1979 Asian Beau
1978 Sarsha's Choice
1977 Marjoleo
1977 Alpine Wind
1975 Detonator
1974 Cambana Lad
1973 Starglow
1972 Millefleurs
1971 Royal Spring
1970 Kilrickle
1969 Gold Casket
1968 La Trice
1967 Tudor Mak
1966 Tudor Mak
1965 Blue Spring
1964 Sweet Saga
1963 Yenton
1962 Royal Thrust
1961 Big Bob
1960 Westmaster
1959 Aquanita
1958 On Guard
1957 Young Filipino
1956 El Boom
1955 Cunderdin
1954 Maniana
1953 Earl James
1952 Aptofine
1951 Beau Temps
1950 Chieftain Warrior
1949 Tania
1948 Gold Patois
1947 Sorcery
1946 Thorium
1945 Falsetto
1944 Bobby Breen
1943 Beaufine
1942 Flame Lady
1941 Hinda
1940 Pretoria
1939 Winbyie
1938 Tetreen
1937 Temple Coyn
1936 Gay Gipsy
1935 Desert Hero
1934 Aclis
1933 Earl Cunje
1932 Jolly Fair
1931 Comprador
1930 Coette
1929 Hint
1928 Columban
1927 Jolly Odd
1926 Cunningman
1925 Eupator
1924 Borgia
1923 Jolly Handsome
1922 Sweet Doris
1921 Fair Intervener
1920 Bobaris
1920 Andronicus
1919 Acclivity
1917 Quiara
1916 Minever
1916 Simple Maid
1914 Lilyveil
1914 Werenda
1912 Saturate
1911 Apple Charlotte
1910 Artesian
1910 Thigen Thu
1908 Lady Agnes
1907 Betsy Burke
1907 Man O' War
1905 Scorher
1904 Possum
1903 Display
1903 Meteorite
1901 Limber
1901 Australian
1900 First Mate
1899 Yatheroo
1898 Onslow
1897 Primrose
1896 Dryden
1895 Florrie
1894 Carbine
1893 Lockeville
1892 Lord Byron
1891 Will O' The Wisp
1890 Wandering Willie
1889 Hermit
1887 Nimrod

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers