Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Lee Steere Classic Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Lee Steere Classic run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Lee Steere Classic

Winners and Past Results for the Lee Steere Classic.

Established in 1983 as a listed race, The Sir Ernest Lee Steere Classic, which is informally called the Lee Steere Classic, was downgraded from  Group 3 to a Listed Race in 2017.

The race is for three year old thoroughbred horses only and run under set weight conditions over 1400 metres.

$150,000 is at stake in the event organised by Perth Racing at Ascot Racecourse, which is regarded as the grand old lady of racecourses. The Lee Steere Classic is held in December as part of the Summer Racing Carnival, and is one of the last races of the season.

Many of the horses contesting in the Lee Steere Classic are local horses who are three year old gallopers in form, some of whom may have already competed in the 1600 meter Group 2 WA Guineas, run under the same conditions over an extended distance.

The WA Guineas is held usually at the end of November, and the Lee Steere Classic is perfect for horses who have found the 1600 meter distance too long. In addition, it suits horses who can recover from the 1600 meter race to compete over a shorter distance. Lee Steer Classic contestants also go on to compete in the Hobartville Stakes, Flight Stakes, and the Furious Stakes, which are similar races in terms of weight and distance.

Good form in the WA Guineas is not a guarantee of repeat performance in the Lee Steere Classic, as the last horse to win the WA Guineas and Lee Steere Classic double was Classy Dresser in 1993. In 2011, Night War claimed the title, after placing second in the listed Placid Ark Stakes and winning the Westspeed Handicap for three year olds. Stormy Nova winner in 2004, Changing Lanes in 2003, and Dexian in 2001, all placed in the WA Guineas before going ahead to win the Lee Steere Classic.

Other recent winners were Playcidium in 2010 who came in first in the Pinjarra Crane Hire 1600 meter race before going on to win the Lee Steere Classic. He then went on to finish third in the 1200 M Air And Water Residential Handicap. Dino Mak, winner of the 2009 Lee Steere Classic, came into the race after finishing 12th in the WA Guineas race, and then third in the 1400 M Fairetha Stakes.

He then placed 5th in the Air and Water Residential Handicap. The most notable horse to win the Lee Steere Classic was Placid Ark , who won the event in 1987 and then became the first horse to win the sprinters treble which included the Lightning Stakes, Oakleigh Plate and Newmarket Handicap.

Year Lee Steere Classic Winners
2019 Sanabreanna
2018 The Velvet King
2017 War Room
2016 Lusaha
2015 Lite'n In My Veins
2014 Liberty's Gem
2013 Petrol Power
2012 Hard Ball Get
2011 Night War
2010 Playcidium Mint
2009 Dino Mak
2008 Destino
2007 Yuro
2006 Mansion House
2005 Stormy Nova
2005 Secret Monarch
2003 Changing Lanes
2002 Early Express
2001 Dexian
2000 Master Park
1999 Zedamoss
1999 Fly My Kite
1998 Wolf Pack
1997 The Medic
1995 Ned's Brother
1994 Discussion
1994 Mobile Link
1993 Classy Dresser
1992 Mount Angelo
1991 Paklani
1990 Stray Bulet
1989 Lady Of Battle
1988 Edge Of Darkness
1987 Placid Ark
1986 Fimiston
1985 Renminbi
1984 Top Post
1983 Corona Miss

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
Place a TOTE win bet on Races 1-6 at 3 Tracks, run 2nd or 3rd, get up to $50 back in Bonus Bets!
Join Now
*Excludes WA residents. First Tote win bet placed online. See promotions page for full T&C ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers