CB Cox Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

CB Cox Stakes run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the CB Cox Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the CB Cox Stakes.

The CB Cox Stakes is a Group 2 race for horses three years old run under weight for age conditions.

The 2100 meter race is held at the Ascot Racecourse in Perth during the summer racing carnival.

Ascot Racecourse is noted as a famous English style racecourse where race goers gather every year to witness some of the finest sprinters, gallopers, and stayers on the Australian tracks. The race is hosted by Perth Racing towards the middle of December with $250,000 in prize money going to the winners.

The CB Cox Stakes is among the concluding black type events in the calendar year and the first summer race of the season beyond 2000 meters. For horses and punters the race is the perfect lead up to the Perth Cup held two weeks later in the season on New Year's Day.

Formerly a 2400 meter race, the distance in the CB Cox Stakes was reduced by 300 meters (2008) to coincide with the shortening of the Perth Cup from 3200 meters to 2400 meters in 2009.

The Group 1 Kingston Town Classic is usually a warm up race for horses seeking to tackle the CB Cox Stakes. Placed fourth in the Kingston Town Classic, Colour Correct scored a convincing victory in the 2010 CB Cox Stakes. Over the years, many horses have either placed well or won the CB Cox Stakes and Perth Cup.

The race has also produced many horses that went on to score a CB Cox Stakes/Perth Cup double. This includes some of the finest stayers such as Saratov in 1988, Mirror Magic in 1991, Palatious in 1993, Cats Fun in 2007, and Lords Ransom in 2009. Several horses such as Ideal Centreman in 1990, Free At Last in 2004, and Early Express in 2005, went on to place well in the Perth Cup.

The inaugural race was held in 1914 won by a horse named, Radnor. Eracre was the first to score back to back victories in 1925-26, followed by Maple in 1927-28, Gay Balkan in 1938-40, Royal Coral in 1965-66, and Tropical Chief in 1975-76.

The event remained a principal race until 1979 when it achieved Group 2 status. Among the most memorable CB Cox Stakes was the 2006 contest between Scenic Shot and Daka's Gem. The race was a dead heat and went down as one of the greatest in Australian racing history.

Year CB Cox Stakes Winners
2019 Regal Power
2018 Galaxy Star
2017 Pounami
2016 Perfect Relation
2015 Delicacy
2014 Elite Elle
2013 Ihtsahymn
2012 Mr Moet
2011 God Has Spoken
2010 Colour Correct
2009 Lord Ransom
2008 Gilded Venom
2007 Cats Fun
2006 Scenic Shot
Daka's Gem
2005 Early Express
2004 Free At Last
2003 Celtus
2002 Bold Mirage
2001 Never Blue
2000 Old Money
1999 Old Cobber
1998 Jack Daniels
1997 Old Cobber
1996 Beau Heed
1995 Dark Ksar
1994 Sugar Raegala
1993 Palatious
1992 Mr. Raku
1991 Mirror Magic
1990 Ideal Centreman
1989 Tawrrific
1988 Saratov
1987 Arcolad
1986 Haulpak's Image
1985 Amber's Double
1984 Phizam
1983 Haulpak's Image
1982 Nicholas John
1981 Brechin Castle
1980 Yashmak
1979 Regimental Honour
1978 Meliador
1977 Farranfore
1976 Tropical Chief
1975 Tropical Chief
1974 Battle Heights
1973 Fade
1972 Piping Lane
1971 Aubella
1970 Nauprius
1969 Jolly Aster
1968 Special Reward
1967 Hilney
1966 Royal Coral
1965 Royal Coral
1964 Rack And Ruin
1963 Cygnet Star
1962 Bay Count
1961 Little Empire
1960 England's Dust
1959 Sparkling Blue
1958 Zaicia
1957 Tribal Ring
1956 Vestment
1955 Melton Prince
1954 Coronate
1953 Moderniste
1952 Myolian
1951 Kingsman
1950 Dhostar
1949 Lady Lucia
1948 San Sanatra
1947 Kalamunda
1946 Lord Treat
1945 Smithie
1944 not held
1943 not held
1942 not held
1942 Hestia
1941 Gay Prince
1940 Gay Balkan
1939 Gay Balkan
1938 Maikai
1937 Battery Gold
1936 Yaringa
1935 Hyperion
1934 D'Artagnan
1933 Gloaman
1932 Taisho
1931 The Dimmer
1930 Runabout
1929 Hint
1928 Maple
1927 Maple
1926 Eracre
1925 Eracre
1924 Lilypond
1923 Jolly Cosy
1922 Brilliant Sunshine
1921 Bobaris
1920 Eurythmic
1919 New Tipperary
1918 Bardeur
1917 Mistico
1916 High Rock
1915 Corstep
1914 Radnor