Belmont Sprint Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Belmont Sprint run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Belmont Sprint

Winners and Past Results for the Belmont Sprint

The Belmont Sprint is an open handicap race for two year olds and over held at the Belmont Park Racecourse in Perth during the winter racing carnival in June.

The 1400 meter race is a Group 3 event hosted by Perth Racing, formerly known as the Western Australian Turf Club.

Prize money worth $125,000 is at stake for quality sprinters that desire to stamp their authority on the racing tracks over the winter session. The Group 3 Roma Cup is the perfect warm up for the Belmont Sprint with many horses scoring a Roma Cup/Belmont Sprint double in recent years.

The 1200 meter Roma Cup is run under the same conditions as the Belmont Sprint, with a number of local sprinters competing for the double. Horses to achieve the feat include Tribula in 2003, Modem in 2004, and Grand Nirvana in 2011.

Free Style was the first horse to win the Belmont Sprint in 1963. The event remained a principal race until 1980 when it was elevated to Group 3. The horses to score a double are National Boy in 1978-79, and Grand Nirvana in 2010-11. Other notable winners include Bold Extreme in 1994, Corporate Bruce in 2001, Let Go Thommo in 2006, and Marasco in 2008.

The Perth Winter Racing Carnival includes only two race days, one held in May and the other in June. The Group 3 Roma Cup takes place in the first race meeting at Belmont, while the Belmont Sprint is held on the second race day in June, the concluding group racing event in Perth for the winter season. In recent years, the Pinjarra Cup also serves as an excellent form guide for runners in the Belmont Sprint.

For many sprinters, the Belmont Sprint is the perfect warm up for the summer racing carnival at Ascot.

The Belmont race track is regarded as one of the best wet weather tracks for thoroughbred racing in the world with an excellent drainage system.

Among the notable jockeys to win the cup is Paul Harvey, nicknamed by punters as ‘The Pontiff', who steered Universal Ruler to victory in 2009. Universal Ruler was to be retired after winning the Belmont Sprint but trainer Darren McAuliffe and his owners decided to let him continue with an eye on the 1600 meter York Stakes at Belmont followed by a series of races at Caulfield.

Year Belmont Sprint Winners
2019 Galaxy Star
2018 Material Man
2017 Rock Magic
2016 Wink And A Nod
2015 Shining Knight
2014 Elite Elle
2013 Kerrific
2012 Lucky Gray
2011 Grand Nirvana
2010 Grand Nirvana
2009 Universal Ruler
2008 Marasco
2007 Beat The Storm
2006 Let Go Thommo
2005 Who Did It
2004 Modem
2003 Tribula
2002 Dark 'N' Dangerous
2001 Corporate Bruce
2000 News Review
1999 True Lover
1998 San Salvador
1997 Cash In The Bank
1996 Bar Dreamer
1995 Craft Memory
1994 Bold Extreme
1993 Dynamor
1992 Blonde Jev
1991 Global Impact
1990 Tsaritsyn
1989 Il Ferrari
1988 Snowy Kitty
1987 Another Omen
1986 Soft As Snow
1985 Casshoney
1984 Misty Shell
1983 Art Roy
1982 Kiwi Bride
1981 Echoes Of Spring
1980 Tangiers
1979 National Boy
1978 National Boy
1977 Burgess Queen
1976 Interchange
1975 Craigie Boy
1974 Minor Control
1973 Clear Mak
1972 All Legal
1971 Baywana
1970 Countlike
1969 Firelight
1968 Santaland
1967 Aquitania
1966 Cosy Comet
1965 De Gaullio
1964 Covanus
1963 Free Style

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers