Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Asian Beau Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Asian Beau Stakes run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Asian Beau Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Asian Beau Stakes.

The Asian Beau Stakes is a Perth Racing Group 3 Australian quality handicap race.

The Asian Beau Stakes is held at the Ascot Racecourse in Perth during the Spring Racing Carnival.

The event is an open race for three year olds run over a distance of 1400 meters. The race is hosted by the Perth Racing Club and attracts prize money worth $150,000.

The Asian Beau Stakes suit in-form horses who can gain acceptance with a light weight to beat the handicapper.

The event is the first quality handicap race of the season held on the same day as the Victoria Derby in Melbourne . Many horses move on from the Asian Beau Stakes to the Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes and RJ Peters Stakes held at the same track later during the carnival. Quality gallopers also have an eye on the Group 1 $1 Million Railway Stakes held three weeks later. Lucky Gray, the 2011 winner of the Asian Beau, won a BM74+ Handicap event over 1400 meters prior to lifting the trophy.

Held at the beginning of the spring racing carnival, the Asian Beau Stakes provides a major form guide for punters to follow for the rest of the season.

The trophy has undergone several changes in its name since the first event in 1982.

Nitro Lad won the inaugural event which was known as the WATC Kankama Quality Stakes. It was also known as the WATC Belmont Community Quality Stakes, WATC Budget Quality Stakes, and as the Asian Beau Stakes since 1995.

The event was a listed race until 1999 when it was upgraded to Group 3 status. Among the notable runners to win the Asian Beau Stakes are Power Prince in 1987, Ableson in 1988, Future Edition in 1991, Lynsted Lad in 1995, Fair Alert in 2000, Wild Target in 2005, and Luckygray in 2011. The four year old Luckygray moved on to win the Railway Stakes.

The Asian Beau Stakes is held in honour of the champion sprinter who rose to fame quickly in the late 1970s with 12 wins from just 18 starts. Bold Extreme, Willoughby , and El Presidente, are the three horses to score an Asian Beau / Railway Stakes double.

Trainers Wally Mitchell and ross Price are the two trainers with more than one Asian Beau to their credit. Bold Extreme, Future Edition, and Nitro Lad from the stable of Wally Mitchell, and Power Prince, Medicine Kid, and Pago Escort from Ross Price's stable are the lucky sprinters/milers to do so.

Jockey Patrick Carbery is the only jockey to ride three horses to victory in the Asian Beau. This includes Classy Dress in 1994, Look of Success in 1997, and Umah in 1999.

YearAsian Beau Stakes Winners
2021Western Empire
2020Inspirational Girl
2018Galaxy Star
2016Heart Starter
2015Real Love
2014Balmont Girl
2013Platinum Rocker
2012Westriver Kevydonn
2010Colour Correct
2008Gilded Venom
2007El Presidente
2006Idyllic Prince
2005Wild Target
2004Rock Of Cashel
2003Track Jester
2001Old Fashion
2000Fair Alert
1997Look Of Success
1996Bold Extreme
1995Lynsted Lad
1994Classy Dresser
1993Asian Incline
1992Pago Escort
1991Future Edition
1990Crimson Medal
1989Medicine Kid
1987Power Prince
1985Coal Pak

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers