Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

AJ Scahill Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

AJ Scahill Stakes run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the AJ Scahill Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the AJ Scahill Stakes.

The Perth summer racing carnival includes the AJ Scahill Stakes, a Group 3 weight for age race for horses three years old and over.

Held in December, the excitement builds up on a day when the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic is also held at the Ascot Racetrack.

The winner of the AJ Scahill Stakes makes its connections richer by $250,000.

Several horses that compete in the Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes or Winterbottom Stakes under the same weight conditions tackle this event. The RJ Peters Stakes is another Group 2 race that provides a form guide for horses that may enter the AJ Scahill Stakes.

The AJ Scahill Stakes is the concluding weight for age sprint at the Perth summer racing carnival. This provides race goers with the best opportunity to select horses based on form in the previous weight for age races during the season. Takeover Target was one of the gallopers to strike in the 2008 Winterbottom Stakes before moving on to win the AJ Scahill Stakes.

Lining up for the 2007 edition was Tarzi who ran second in the Lee Steere Stakes followed by a minor placing in the Railway Stakes. The bay gelding, winner of over $1.1 million in prize money then went on to win the Scahill Stakes.

The first AJ Scahill Stakes was a principal race held in 1978 run over 1200 M. Burgess Queen was the first to lift the trophy. The event became a Group 3 race in 1980 with 200 M added to the distance. Hakim Boy was the first to win the event as a Group 3 race The Colonel Reeves Stakes and the Railway Stakes are also lead up races where many horses make it to the starting gate in the AJ Scahill Stakes.

The quality middle distance sprint race is named after former Vice Chairman of Perth Racing and founding member of the W. A. Totalisator Agency Board. The Perth Summer Racing Carnival held between October and January the following year promises race goers action packed race days at Ascot.

The carnival attracts people from all around the nation to witness some of the finest gallopers blaze the Ascot track. Generous purses also attract a number of competitors from all over Australia. Apart from Tarzi, some of the most brilliant middle distance sprinters to lift the AJ Scahill Stakes include Marasco in 2006 and Takeover Target in 2009.

YearAJ Scahill Stakes Winners
2021Valour Road
2019The Celt
2018Arcadia Prince
2016Vega Magic
2015Watermans Bay
2014Watermans Bay
2012Power Princess
2011Grand Nirvana
2010Waratah's Secret
2008Takeover Target
2005Arctic Park
2004Avenida Madero
2003Hot Shot Brother
2002Kensyl Bay
2001Lizzy Long Legs
1999Double Blue
1997Bold Extreme
1996Island Morn
1994Brave Kite
1993Yilgangie Gold
1992Pago Escort
1991Strip The Moon
1990Medicine Kid
1988Miss Muffet
1987King Phoenix
1986Heron Bridge
1985Eastern Temple
1984Hanging In
1983Haulpak's Image
1982Latin Saint
1981Blazing Bags
1980Hakim Boy
1979Junction Girl
1978Burgess Queen

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers