Newcastle Newmarket Handicap Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Newcastle Newmarket Handicap run at the Broadmeadow Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Newcastle Newmarket Handicap

Winners and Past Results for the Newcastle Newmarket Handicap.

The Newcastle Newmarket Handicap is a Group 3, 1400 meter event held midweek in March at Newcastle Racecourse during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

This quality handicap race offers $150,000 in prize money. The Newcastle racetrack in Newcastle, New South Wales second largest city, is a two hour drive from Sydney. It is located in the suburb of Broadmeadow, which sometimes lends it name to the racecourse. The Newcastle Newmarket Handicap is hosted by the Newcastle Jockey Club, which holds 26 Saturday meetings, as well as the carnivals, in autumn and spring. The race usually sees a good group of local gallopers take the field as well as a few interstate contenders looking to begin their autumn campaign in Sydney.

The lead up race to the Newcastle Newmarket Handicap is the 1300 M Group 3 Liverpool City Cup held at Warwick Farm Racecourse, in Sydney during the autumn racing carnival. It is held on the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes Day. When looking at the Liverpool Stakes, you ought to consider the horses that didn't make the grade here, because if they do place here, they tend to go to other races with an increase of distance.

Horses who have performed well in the Newcastle Newmarket Handicap most often go on to compete in the 1300 M Group 2 Ajax Stakes, held usually at the end of March at Rosehill Garden Racecourse. Some may fancy their chances in the 1500 M Group 1 George Ryder Stakes, held in the beginning of April at Rosehill Racecourse.

Year Newmarket Handicap Newcastle Winners
2019 Princess Posh
2018 Lanciato
2017 Happy Clapper
2016 Artistry
2015 Laser Hawk
2014 Mecir 
2013 Bello
2012 He's Remarkable
2011 Keepin The Dream
2010 Walking Or Dancing
2009 Solo Flyer
2008 Falaise
2007 Danzippo
2006 Tall Timbers
2005 Patezza
2004 PlatinumScissors
2003 Zabarra
2002 Hey Pronto
2001 Crawl
2000 Spying
1999 Techniques
1998 Bezeal Bay
1997 Secret Savings
1996 Magic Road
1995 Pimpala Son
1994 Sir Bernard
1993 Deposition
1992 Blue Boss
1991 Ricochet Rosie
1990 Comrade
1989 Never Quit
1988 Lucky Rass
1987 not held
1986 Kui-Kong
1985 Vain Fury
1984 Manuan
1983 Manuan
1982 Grey Receiver
1981 Yir Tiz
1980 Painted Red
1979 Stylee
1978 Monakea
1977 Swiftly Ann
1976 Manawapoi
1975 Go Mod
1974 Favoured
1973 Gay Blade
1972 Sylvan Ridge
1971 Fleet Royal
1970 Ricochet
1969 Skellatar
1968 Foresight
1967 Scottish Soldier
1966 Even Better
1965 Brandy Lad
1964 Brandy Lad
1963 Zozima
1962 Saydor
1961 Heroic Victory
1960 Dare Say
1959 Amanullah
1958 Achnacary
1957 Compound
1956 Spearby
1955 Seacraft

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers