William Reid Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

William Reid Stakes run at the Moonee Valley Racecourse. Winners and past results of the William Reid Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the William Reid Stakes.

Among the premier black type sprint events hosted by Moonee Valley Racing Club during the autumn racing carnival in March is the William Reid Stakes.

The weight for age race is a Group 1 event run over 1200 metres of the Moonee Valley track with prize money of $500,000.

Some of the classiest sprinters either come in fresh from a spell or a number of sprint races held around the time which includes the invincible Black Caviar, winner of the 2011 William Reid Stakes.

It has also been held as the Australia Stakes between 1997 and 2009. However, it has been hosted as the William Reid Stakes since then. In form sprinters may make their way to the William Reid Stakes after contesting in the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap held on Super Saturday at Flemington in March and the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate held earlier at Caulfield Racecourse in February. Other likely lead up races includes the 1000 M Group 1 Lightning Stakes held earlier at Flemington.

Miss Andretti had the distinction of winning the Lightning Stakes / William Reid Stakes double in 2007, followed by Apache Cat in 2008. Black Caviar won the Newmarket Handicap before winning here in 2011 while Crystal Lily had to be content as runner up in both the races.

A number of formidable champions have etched their name on the William Reid Stakes which includes Manikato who made winning a habit for five years in succession between 1979 and 1983. Zeditave in 1989 and Redelva in 1991 are among the classy sprinters to join the elite club while Hareeba followed suit in 1995. Miss Andretti won the title as the Australia Stakes in 2007 while Apache Cat scored back to back wins in 2008-09.

Horses may fancy their chances in the 1200 M Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes at Randwick a fortnight later.

The William Reid Stakes was first held in 1925 as a principal race and was elevated to Group 2 during Manikato’s winning streak in 1980. Canny Lass won the first title as a Group 1 race in 1987. The race is held in honour of Victorian banker and prominent racehorse owner, the late William Reid.

Year William Reid Stakes Winners
2020 Loving Gaby
2019 Sunlight
2018 Hellbent
2017 Silent Sedition
2016 Flamberge
2015 Lucky Hussler 
2014 Spirit Of Boom
2013 Black Caviar
2012 Foxwedge
2011 Black Caviar
2010 Turffontein
2009 Apache Cat
2008 Apache Cat
2007 Miss Andretti
2006 Virage De Fortune
2005 Cape Of Good Hope
2004 Regimental Gal
2002 Toledo
2001 Bomber Bill
2000 Miss Pennymoney
1999 Grand Archway
1998 Stella Cadente
1997 Spartacus
1996 Strategic
1995 Hareeba
1994 Lady Jakeo
1993 Spanish Mix
1992 Wrap Around
1991 Redelva
1990 Lightning Bend
1989 Zeditave
1988 Vo Rogue
1987 Canny Lass
1986 Campaign King
1985 River Rough
1984 Qubeau
1983 Manikato
1982 Manikato
1981 Manikato
1980 Manikato
1979 Manikato
1978 Family Of Man
1977 Toy Show
1976 Lord Dudley
1975 Leica Show
1974 All Shot
1973 All Shot
1972 Dual Choice
1971 Tango Miss
1970 Crewman
1969 Magic Ruler
1968 Winfreux
1967 Marmion
1966 Star Affair
1965 Contempler
1964 Check Up
1963 Nikalapko
1962 New Statesman
1961 Lady Major
1960 Planetoid
1959 Merger
1958 Golden Doubles
1957 Golden Doubles
1956 Joda Boy
1955 Flying Halo
1954 St. Joel
1953 Flying Halo
1952 Flying Halo 7
1951 Comic Court
1950 Filipino
1949 Comedy Prince
1948 Chanak
1947 Bravesia
1946 Tranquil Star
1945 David's Last
1944 Reception
1943 not held
1942 Chatasan
1941 All Veil
1940 Magic Circle
1939 Amiable
1938 Hua
1937 Pamelus
1936 not held
1935 Heros
1934 Heros
1933 Waltzing Lily
1932 Middle Watch
1931 Mystic Peak
1930 Figure
1929 Gothic
1928 Translator
1927 Heroic
1926 The Night Patrol
1925 The Night Patrol

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers