WH Stocks Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

WH Stocks Stakes run at the Moonee Valley Racecourse. Winners and past results of the WH Stocks Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the WH Stocks Stakes.

The Moonee Valley Racing Club hosts a number of black type races during the Melbourne spring racing carnival which includes the Group 2 WH Stocks Stakes in September at Moonee Valley Racecourse.

The 1600 metre weight for age race is for mares four years old and over and is worth $200,000 in prize money

The event is a good lead up to bigger events during the carnival which includes the 1400 M Group 2 Blazer Stakes at Flemington Racecourse and the Group 1 Myer Classic also at Flemington on Victoria Derby day.

The 1400 M Group 3 Tristarc Stakes at Caulfield Racecourse is another option for the mares after the WH Stocks Stakes. The race is a good test for mares stepping up in distance to prove their mettle as strong milers.

The Group 2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes and Group 3 McEwen Stakes is also held on the day, which leaves punters with enough room to spread their wagers since the WH Stocks Stakes can produce some surprise winners.

One of the lead up races is the Group 2 Memsie Stakes held two weeks earlier at the Caulfield track over 1400 metres.

Next up for some of the top performing mares after the WH Stocks Stakes could be the Group 1 Toorak Handicap over the same distance at Caulfield, a fortnight later. Another mile race on the cards is the Group 1 Epsom Handicap at the Randwick Racetrack which could be the stepping stone to the Cox Plate at Moonee Valley for the better performing mares.

Mellition went down in history as the winner of the first WH Stocks Stakes as a principal race in 1973. It remained a listed race between 1979 and 1992 after which it enjoyed Group 3 status until 2005 when it was promoted to Group 2.

Among the classy milers to win the WH Stocks Stakes were Sunday Joy in 2003 while She's Archie won comfortably in 2004. Devil Moon triumphed in 2007 while Zarita won by a whisker from Cats Whisker in 2009.

Year WH Stocks Stakes Winners
2020 Mystic Journey
2019 Princess Jenni
2018 I Am A Star
2017 I Am A Star
2016 Dont Doubt Mamma
2015 Fenway
2014 Dear Demi
2013 Atlantic Jewel
2012 Oasis Bloom
2011 King's Rose
2010 Avienus
2009 Zarita
2008 Tuesday Joy
2007 Devil Moon
2006 Astrodame
2005 Flowerdrum
2004 She's Archie
2003 Sunday Joy
2002 Gold Lottey
2001 Lady Marion
2000 Hula Wonder
1999 Sorrento
1998 Londolozi
1997 Sweet Delight
1996 Arctic Scent
1995 The Penny
1994 Alcove
1993 Bon Precieux
1992 Gatherneaux
1991 Pacific
1990 Natural Wonder
1989 Top Dance
1988 Hazy Pond
1987 Gielgud's Belle
1986 Rompalong
1985 Digger's Lass
1984 Change The Tune
1983 Matternot
1982 Fiery Pax
1981 Countess Caboul
1980 Dondal
1979 Country Belle
1978 Bold Bridget
1977 not held
1976 Princess Veronica
1975 Hot Cross
1974 Dowling Lass
1973 Mellition

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers