Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Sunline Stakes 2023 Tips, News, Winners and Past Results

Sunline Stakes is a Group 2 race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse over 1600 metres annually. Prize money for the event is worth $300,000

Winners and Past Results for the Sunline Stakes

Moonee Valley Racing Club pays tribute to champion thoroughbred racehorse Sunline with a 1600 metre weight for age race held in her honour: Sunline Stakes.

2023 Sunline Stakes Information

Date Of The Sunline Stakes: 24/3/23

Time Of The Sunline Stakes: TBA

Venue For The Sunline Stakes: Moonee Valley Racecourse

How To Live Stream The Sunline Stakes

To live stream the Sunline Stakes, Sign Up To TAB and watch the race for free.

How To Bet On The Sunline Stakes

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Sunline Stakes: Ladbrokes

My 2023 Sunline Stakes Betting Tips

1. TBA

2. TBA

3. TBA

More Details About The Sunline Stakes

Formerly known as the Diamond Jubilee Stakes, the Sunline Stakes is a Group 2 race for fillies and mares three years old and above. The race is held at Moonee Valley Racecourse in March during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The mile race is worth $300,000 and is held alongside the Group 1 William Reid Stakes under lights on a Friday night.

The Sunline Stakes is a race that attracts the classier fillies & mares where level weights give in-form females an advantage over their rivals. Horses may make their way to the Sunline Stakes via a number of races held under similar conditions. The 1400 M Group 3 Mannerism Stakes at Caulfield Racecourse, and the 1400 M Frances Tressady Stakes and 1600 M Matron Stakes held at the Flemington racetrack are among the likely events tackled on the way to the tight Moonee Valley track. The race attracts a big crowd since it is one of the few stakes races to be held at night.

The Sunline Stakes began as a listed race in 1981 and was elevated to Group 3 in 1991. It was once again promoted by the MVRC to Group 2 in 1995. Notable milers to win include Rose O' War in 2000, Sylvaner in 2004, Beautiful Gem in 2005, Candy Vale in 2006 and the P T Hyland trained Zarita in 2010, who made her connections richer by over $1.6 million by the end of her career in 2010.

Sunline remains one of the all time greats when it comes to Australian thoroughbred horse racing. The classy mare won 32 races from 48 starts, finishing her glorious career with a total of A$11,351,607 in prize money, which included major races in Australia, New Zealand and Hong Kong.

Sunline Stakes Past Winners

2022Shout The Bar
2021Quantum Mechanic
2020Mamzelle Tess
2018Spanish Reef
2017I Am A Star
2016Miss Rose De Lago
2015Noble Protector 
2014Text'n Hurley
2013Spirit Song
2012Spirit Song
2009Subtle Cove
2008Laura's Charm
2007Like It Is
2006Candy Vale
2005Beautiful Gem
2003Tickle My
2000Rose O' War
1998Burning Embers
1997Prefer An Angel
1996Suma Peace
1994Not Related
1993Excited Angel
1992Acushla Marie
1991Rockets Galore
1990Marathon Star
1989Boardwalk Angel
1988Bianco Flyer
1987Silver Satellite
1985Mrs. Fitzherbet
1984Special To Me
1983Kalimna Queen
1982Lady Ice

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers