Red Anchor Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Red Anchor Stakes run at the Moonee Valley Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Red Anchor Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Red Anchor Stakes 

Among the black type events hosted by Moonee Valley Racing Club during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in October is the Red Anchor Stakes.

The Red Anchor Stakes is a Group 3 event for three year old horses that travel a distance of 1200 metres on the Moonee Valley Racetrack under set weight plus penalty conditions.

The event is worth $200,000 and is held alongside the Group 1 WS Cox Plate, the feature event of Moonee Valley Racing Club's calendar, and the Group 2 Schweppes Stakes. The set weight conditions favour the better gallopers who have proved so time and again over the event's history since 1985.

The Group 2 Schillaci Stakes held a fortnight earlier at Caulfield Racecourse over 1000 metres is usually a warm up to this event with Karuta Queen finishing second behind the invincible Black Caviar before winning the 2011 Red Anchor Stakes. The Group 3 Champagne Stakes for three year old fillies held over 1200 metres on the same track a few weeks earlier is also a good form guide. Miss Stellabelle, runner in the Red Anchor Stakes, came into the event after a convincing one and a half length victory from Platelet in the Champagne Stakes. Being an event for three year olds, some horses may come in from various handicap events.

Horses may tackle a number of Group races over the season. However, the Red Anchor Stakes hasn't produced many notable winners over the season. Avenue in 2009 was the last to move on to win or place well in multiple group races in 2010. Lone Rock, placed third in 2010, kicked of the autumn racing season with a win in the Group 1 the Goodwood at Morphetville Racecourse. Karuta Queen is among the recent outstanding three year old fillies to win or place well in Group 3 races and listed races prior to winning the 2011 Red Anchor Stakes.

The last horse to win a double was Sedation in 1998, who went on to win the Group 2 Sandown Guineas in his next start. Some horses may fancy their chances in the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes at the Flemington races later in November. The Red Anchor Stakes has also been held as the CS Hayes Stakes, City Pacific Finance Stakes, and most recently as the Australia Stakes. It was first held as a listed race in 1985 and was granted Group 3 status in 1990.

YearRed Anchor Stakes Winners
2020Portland Sky
2019Sartorial Splendor
2013Thermal Current
2012Hidden Warrior
2011Karuta Queen
2010Thats Not It
2007Royal Asscher
2006Corton Charlemagne
2000Sound The Alarm
1994Cannibal King
1992Snow Lord
1991Hula Grey
1989Hot Arch
1988Clay Hero
1987Christmas Tree

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers