JRA Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

JRA Cup run at the Moonee Valley Racecourse. Winners and past results of the JRA Cup

Winners and Past Results for the JRA Cup

Hosted by the Moonee Valley Racing Club, the JRA Cup is a Group 3 open handicap race held at the Moonee Valley racetrack annually in the month of September during the spring racing carnival in Melbourne.

A wide pool of horses from across the country fancy their chances in the JRA Cup over the 2040 metres on the Moonee Valley race track for prize money worth $200,000. While the event began as a listed race in 1996 it was granted Group 3 status in 2011.

Many trainers put their best milers to the test over the extended distance in order to test their ability to become stronger staying types and tackle other prestigious races during the spring carnival.

The JRA Cup has proved to be a major stepping stone for several runners who have gone on to win the WS Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup. Shocking ran third in the 2009 JRA Cup before winning the Melbourne Cup convincingly. Top stayers may also consider entering the Lexus Stakes, Queen Elizabeth Stakes, and the Caulfield Cup.

Stronger, in form horses, have a variety of races to tackle during the season since the JRA Cup is among the earlier races in the spring carnival. Horses may make their way to the event after a run in the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes held at the Caulfield track over 2000 metres.

Dream Pedlar finished sixth in the Naturalism Stakes prior to winning the 2011 JRA Cup although he did not fare well in the Caulfield Cup later on. Maldivian was another successful horse to win the 2007 JRA Cup and then the 2008 WS Cox Plate.

The Group 2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes run over a mile at the Moonee Valley track is also a good form guide for horses entering the JRA Cup. Winner of the 2010 JRA Cup, Precedence, ran fourth in the Chin Nam Stakes and then went on to finish third in the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes at Caulfield.

He followed it up with an impressive victory in the Group 2 Moonee Valley Cup over 2500 metres and finished eighth in the Melbourne Cup.

After finishing third in the 2010 JRA Cup, Linton tasted success in the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes and was runner up in the Group 3 Lexus Stakes over 2500 metres at Flemington. Master O'Reilly, ran third in the 2007 JRA Cup prior to lifting the Group 2 Presentation Stakes and the Group 1 Caulfield Cup at Caulfield.

For punters, the JRA Cup remains an important race where horses can be followed closely for the rest of the season.

Year JRA Cup Winners
2020 Al Galayel
2019 Captain Cook
2018 The Taj Mahal
2017 Jon Snow
2016 Real Love
2015 Escado
2014 The Cleaner
2013 Mourinho
2012 Bianmick
2011 Dream Pedlar
2010 Precedence
2009 Alcopop
2007 Maldivian
2006 Pavlova
2005 El Segundo
2004 Beswinging
2003 General Booth
2002 Cheverny
2001 Rain Gauge
2000 Prince Benbara
1999 Brave Chief
1998 Il Don
1997 Sunny Lane
1996 Section

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers