Inglis Mile Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Inglis Mile run at the Moonee Valley Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Inglis Mile

Winners and Past Results for the Inglis Mile

The Inglis Mile is a Group 3 race hosted by Moonee Valley Racing Club and is run at the Moonee Valley Racetrack in Melbourne in October.

The mile race is open to mares four years old and above and run under handicap conditions. This event is held annually in the month of October at the Moonee Valley racecourse. The 1600 metre trip across the tight Moonee Valley track is worth $150,000. The Inglis Mile is also held during the popular Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival along with the Group 1 Cox Plate, the most famous event hosted at Moonee Valley.

The first Inglis Mile was hosted as the BMW Australia Stakes in 1990, won by Princess Pushy.

It began as a Listed Race and was elevated to Group 3 in 1994. It has been run under several different names over the years, which includes the Dalgety Breeders Plate in 1991-92, BMW Plate in 1993, and the Tesio Stakes from 1994 to 2004. It was then called the Inglis Mile until 2008. In 2011, the Inglis Mile was hosted as the MVRC Trojan Hand Tools Stake. Racegoers have witnessed some of the keenest contests over the years with two dead heats in 2007 and 2008. Maslins Beach and Autumn Jeuney were locked in a battle in the home straight in 2007 while Miss Badoura and Bird Of Fire never gave up, only to cross the winning post together in 2008.

Events like the Group 3 How Now Stakes held at Caulfield and the Group 2 Rose Of Kingston Stakes held at Flemington provide a good launching pad for horses that contest in the Inglis Mile. The best milers may fancy their chances in premier group events such as the Group 1 Myer Classic held at Flemington and the Group 2 Matriarch Stakes. The Group 2 Crystal Mile scheduled in October on the same track is another event that horses may tackle after the Inglis Mile.

Over the years the race has been dominated by mares with track and distance form. 2011 Inglis Mile champion, Ocean Challenger came into the race after a minor placing in the 1600 M Bairnsdale Cup at Bairnsdale. Lady Lynette scored back to back victories in 2009-10 and was placed third in the 2011 edition of the race. In 2009, she also went on to finish a close second in the Group 1 Myer Classic. After an exciting finish in 2008, Birds Of Fire also won the Group 2 Matriarch Stakes at Flemington.

Other strong milers to win this race include Zanna in 2003, Valkyrie Diva in 2006, and Autumn Jeuney in 2007.

Year Inglis Mile Winners
2019 Amangiri
2018 Shoko
2017 Lubiton
2016 Kaniana
2015 Coronation Shallan
2014 Suavito
2013 Catkins
2012 Star Of Giselle
2011 Ocean Challenger
2010 Lady Lynette
2009 Lady Lynette
2008 Bird Of Fire/Miss Badoura
2007 Autumn Jeuney
2006 Valkyrie Diva
2005 Matras
2004 Joy Of Flight
2003 Zanna
2002 Gentle Genius
2001 La Bella Dama
2000 Oregon Seal
1999 Zatella
1998 Our Bellition
1997 Spectrum
1996 Miss Margaret
1995 Our Marquise
1994 Centisle
1993 Mingling Glances
1992 Bold Alliance
1991 Western Chorus
1990 Princess Pushy

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers