Ian McEwen Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Ian McEwen Stakes run at the Moonee Valley Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Ian McEwen Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Ian McEwen Stakes

The Ian McEwen Stakes is hosted by the Moonee Valley Racing Club at the Moonee Valley Racecourse.

The Group 2 open race has horses travel a short distance of 1000 metres under weight for age conditions for a chance to earn prize money worth $150,000. The race was elevated from a Group 3 event to a Group 2 in August 2013.

The event is a part of the famous Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is scheduled early in September. Only the best sprinters and gallopers of the country take part in this event as the weight for age conditions favour above average horses.

The Ian McEwen Trophy is on the same race card as other Group 2 races which include the Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes and WH Stocks Stakes.

The Ian McEwen Stakes is only a recent addition to the Australian Thoroughbred racing scene. It was run for the very first time in 1995 and was won by a very talented horse named Sequalo who covered the distance of 1000 metres in 57.3 seconds.

It began as a Listed Race and remained so until 2005. In 2006 it was awarded Group 3 status by the Moonee Valley Racing Club authorities and in 2013 again elevated this time to a Group 2 race.

The event is held in honour of Ian McEwen, a former Moonee Valley Racing Club secretary.

The McEwen Stakes has attracted top sprinters over the years, many of whom have gone on to achieve greater success. Some Group 3 races such as the Missile Stakes held in Sydney and the Auries Star Handicap are a good platform for horses that wish to participate in the Ian McEwen Stakes.

The best performers may vie for an entry into the 1200 M Group 1 Manikato Stakes which is held later in the carnival.

In 2010, the McEwen Stakes and the Manikato Stakes double was won by Hay List. Top sprinters may also eye the 1200 M Group 2 Schweppes Stakes held on Cox Plate Day. Among the notable sprinters to win the Ian McEwen Trophy include Testa Rossa in 2000, Miss Andretti in 2006, and Nicconi in 2009.

Buffering came in from a spell to win the 2011 Ian McEwen Trophy and then finished fourth in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes in his next outing on the same track.

In 2009, Miss Andretti went on to blaze the tracks in the Manikato Stakes, followed by a close second in the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and another victory in the Group 2 Schillaci Stakes at the Caulfield track later in the season.

Year Ian McEwen Stakes Winners
2020 Bella Vella
2019 Faatinah
2018 Nature Strip
2017 Russian Revolution
2016 Wild Rain
2015 Chautauqua
2014 Angelic Light
2013 Kuroshio
2012 Bel Sprinter
2011 Buffering
2010 Hay List
2009 Nicconi
2008 Kaphero
2007 Here De Angels
2006 Miss Andretti
2005 Strikeline
2004 Edgeton
2003 Yell
2002 Mistegic
2001 Strategic Image
2000 Testa Rossa
1999 Theatre
1998 Flavour
1997 Another Excuse
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers